Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed September 2025

GBK: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Boparan Restaurants Holdings Limited. In the year to December 2024 Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited reported turnover of £125m.

GBK has filed accounts for the year to 28 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 29 December 2024. It will update when they are.

£125m
Turnover, up 29.8%
£5m
Pre-tax profit
2,235
Employees
Registered name
GOURMET BURGER KITCHEN (UK) LIMITED
Company number
06800894
Status
Active
Incorporated
26 January 2009
Registered office area
Birmingham
Industry code on the register
56101: Food and beverage service activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 26 September 2025

What does GBK do?

GBK, Gourmet Burger Kitchen, is a burger restaurant chain selling burgers, fries and shakes from sit-down restaurants and through delivery apps. It started in London in 2001 with a menu created by New Zealand chefs, and it still offers New Zealand-inspired burgers alongside its standard range.

In brief: burger restaurant chain · sit-down and delivery · started in London

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: gbk.co.uk.

Who owns GBK?

Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited
GBK · company 06800894
Boparan Restaurants Holdings Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Boparan Restaurants Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited, company number 06800894. Boparan Restaurants Holdings Limited is itself company number 10192508.

That places Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs GBK?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited.

All 2 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Richard Pigott22 January 2026
Megan Jo Finlay6 March 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did GBK file?

Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited reported turnover of £125m in the year to December 2024. That was up 29.8% on £96m the year before.

It reported 2,235 employees. The year before it reported 1,652.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £5m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £5m the year before.

Staff costs came to £45m. That is an average of £20,000 a head.

Dec 2024£35.77£60.33£3.85 profit
Dec 2023£36.91£68.01£4.92 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£125m£96m
Pre-tax profit£5m (filed)-£5m (filed)
Employees2,2351,652
Staff costs£45m£36m
Average staff cost per head£20,000£22,000
Bank and cashn/d£1.6m
Net assets£1.0m-£1.7m
Interest paid£69k
Directors' pay£0.6m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against GBK?

Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited has registered 7 charges at Companies House, of which 4 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 4 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)25 February 2026
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)25 July 2025
National Westminster Bank PLC as Security Agent6 September 2024
Spiritdrive Limited and Spiritbay Limited8 January 2010

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

GBK files as Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited, whose person with significant control is Boparan Restaurants Holdings Limited, with turnover of £125m in its latest filed year.

Questions about GBK

What does GBK do?

GBK, Gourmet Burger Kitchen, is a burger restaurant chain selling burgers, fries and shakes from sit-down restaurants and through delivery apps. It started in London in 2001 with a menu created by New Zealand chefs, and it still offers New Zealand-inspired burgers alongside its standard range.

Who owns GBK?

The Companies House register records Boparan Restaurants Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited.

How much does GBK make?

Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited reported turnover of £125m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £5m.

How many people work at GBK?

Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited reported 2,235 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs GBK?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Gourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 06800894, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “GBK: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/gbk/. Figures from Companies House filings for GOURMET BURGER KITCHEN (UK) LIMITED (06800894).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings