Battle · 5 companies
UK coffee roasters
Roasted, ground and ranked
Taylors of Harrogate leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Taylors of Harrogate is the biggest by turnover at £326m, against £35m at Grind. Rave Coffee keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £13.42 as pre-tax profit.
The year ends are up to 12 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. Taylors of Harrogate and Grind file group accounts that include subsidiaries; Rave Coffee, Pact Coffee and Origin Coffee file for a single company, which flatters the groups on size.
Accounts compared: Taylors of Harrogate to Oct 2025 · Rave Coffee to Dec 2025 · Pact Coffee to Dec 2024 · Grind to Apr 2025 · Origin Coffee to Jan 2025
The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Taylors of HarrogateBettys & Taylors Group Ltd | £326m | +2.0% | £29m | 8.9% | 1,613 | £47,000 | £202,000 | £168m | £27m | Oct 2025 | Group |
| 2 | GrindGrind Holdings Ltd | £35m | +18.5% | -£9m | -25.5% | 328 | £33,000 | £108,000 | £6m | £2m | Apr 2025 | Group |
| 3 | Rave CoffeeRave Coffee Limited | £15m | +45.6% | £2m | 13.4% | 79 | £27,000 | £191,000 | £3m | £0.9m | Dec 2025 | Single company |
| 4 | Origin CoffeeOrigin Coffee Ltd | £13m | +18.3% | £0.6m | 4.9% | 76 | £39,000 | £176,000 | £1.7m | £0.8m | Jan 2025 | Single company |
| 5 | Pact CoffeeYour Grind Ltd | £13m | +12.1% | £0.1m | 0.9% | 70 | £42,000 | £187,000 | £0.4m | £0.8m | Dec 2024 | Single company |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
Biggest by turnover
Taylors of Harrogate
£326m
Most pre-tax profit
Taylors of Harrogate
£29m
Highest profit margin
Rave Coffee
13.4%
Fastest-growing turnover
Rave Coffee
+45.6%
Biggest employer
Taylors of Harrogate
1,613 staff
Highest pay per head
Taylors of Harrogate
£47,000
Most turnover per head
Taylors of Harrogate
£202,000
Largest net assets
Taylors of Harrogate
£168m
Most cash
Taylors of Harrogate
£27m
The Takeaway
- Rave Coffee converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £13.42 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £25.53 at Grind.
- Taylors of Harrogate is the largest on the top line, £326m of turnover, 9.2x Grind's £35m.
- Rave Coffee is growing fastest, turnover +45.6% on its own prior year.
- Taylors of Harrogate is the biggest employer with 1,613 people; Taylors of Harrogate pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £47,000.
- Taylors of Harrogate has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £168m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
Rave Coffee keeps the most: £13.42 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Grind does worst, losing £25.53.
Financing bites hardest at Grind: £2.28 of every £100 goes on interest.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is Taylors of Harrogate (£326m), Grind (£35m), Rave Coffee (£15m), Origin Coffee (£13m), Pact Coffee (£13m).
By headcount, Taylors of Harrogate leads with 1,613 employees.
The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Taylors of Harrogate to Oct 2025, Rave Coffee to Dec 2025, Pact Coffee to Dec 2024, Grind to Apr 2025, Origin Coffee to Jan 2025. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
Rave Coffee grew fastest, turnover +45.6% on its own prior year, ahead of Grind (+18.5%), Origin Coffee (+18.3%), Pact Coffee (+12.1%), Taylors of Harrogate (+2.0%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
Taylors of Harrogate employs the most, 1,613 people, against 328 at Grind.
Taylors of Harrogate has the highest average staff cost, about £47,000 a head; Rave Coffee the lowest, about £27,000.
Taylors of Harrogate brings in the most turnover per employee, about £202,000, against £108,000 at Grind. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Taylors of Harrogate
1,613
employees, about £47,000 pay a head, £202,000 turnover a head, +2.9% on the year
Rave Coffee
79
employees, about £27,000 pay a head, £191,000 turnover a head, +29.5% on the year
Pact Coffee
70
employees, about £42,000 pay a head, £187,000 turnover a head, +1.4% on the year
Grind
328
employees, about £33,000 pay a head, £108,000 turnover a head, +10.8% on the year
Origin Coffee
76
employees, about £39,000 pay a head, £176,000 turnover a head, +10.1% on the year
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns Taylors of Harrogate →
Rave Coffee Limited · 07384599Held by Mr Robert Charles Hodge
An individual recorded as a person with significant control.
Who owns Rave Coffee →
Your Grind Ltd · 08199187Held by Mr Stephen Ross Rapoport
An individual recorded as a person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns Pact Coffee →
Grind Holdings Ltd · 12812342Held by Mr Richard John Koch
An individual recorded as a person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns Grind →
Origin Coffee Ltd · 05410302Held by Origin Coffee (Holdings) Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 3 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Origin Coffee →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | Taylors of Harrogate | Rave Coffee | Pact Coffee | Grind | Origin Coffee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered name | BETTYS & TAYLORS GROUP LTD | RAVE COFFEE LIMITED | YOUR GRIND LTD | GRIND HOLDINGS LTD | ORIGIN COFFEE LTD |
| Company number | 00500829 | 07384599 | 08199187 | 12812342 | 05410302 |
| Incorporated | 1951 | 2010 | 2012 | 2020 | 2005 |
| Accounts filed | 25 June 2026 | 9 September 2026 | 26 September 2025 | 31 January 2026 | 2 June 2025 |
| Turnover, prior year | £319m | £10m | £12m | £30m | £11m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | £29m | £1.5m | £32k | -£6m | n/d |
| Staff costs | £75m | £2m | £3m | £11m | £3m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 23.1% | 14.3% | 22.5% | 30.9% | 22.3% |
| Employees, prior year | 1,568 | 61 | 69 | 296 | 69 |
| Dividends paid | £5m | £0.8m | n/d | n/d | n/d |
| Charges outstanding | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
UK coffee roasters: common questions
Who is the biggest of Taylors of Harrogate, Rave Coffee, Pact Coffee, Grind or Origin Coffee?
Taylors of Harrogate, with turnover of £326m in the year to October 2025.
Which makes the most profit?
Taylors of Harrogate: £29m pre-tax in the year to October 2025.
Which employs the most people?
Taylors of Harrogate, with 1,613 employees in its latest accounts.
Taylors of Harrogate or Rave Coffee: which is bigger?
Taylors of Harrogate, with turnover of £326m against £15m at Rave Coffee on their latest filings. On margin, Rave Coffee keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Taylors of Harrogate or Pact Coffee: which is bigger?
Taylors of Harrogate, with turnover of £326m against £13m at Pact Coffee on their latest filings. On margin, Taylors of Harrogate keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Taylors of Harrogate or Grind: which is bigger?
Taylors of Harrogate, with turnover of £326m against £35m at Grind on their latest filings. On margin, Taylors of Harrogate keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Taylors of Harrogate or Origin Coffee: which is bigger?
Taylors of Harrogate, with turnover of £326m against £13m at Origin Coffee on their latest filings. On margin, Taylors of Harrogate keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Rave Coffee or Pact Coffee: which is bigger?
Rave Coffee, with turnover of £15m against £13m at Pact Coffee on their latest filings. On margin, Rave Coffee keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Rave Coffee or Grind: which is bigger?
Grind, with turnover of £35m against £15m at Rave Coffee on their latest filings. On margin, Rave Coffee keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Rave Coffee or Origin Coffee: which is bigger?
Rave Coffee, with turnover of £15m against £13m at Origin Coffee on their latest filings. On margin, Rave Coffee keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Pact Coffee or Grind: which is bigger?
Grind, with turnover of £35m against £13m at Pact Coffee on their latest filings. On margin, Pact Coffee keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Pact Coffee or Origin Coffee: which is bigger?
Origin Coffee, with turnover of £13m against £13m at Pact Coffee on their latest filings. On margin, Origin Coffee keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Grind or Origin Coffee: which is bigger?
Grind, with turnover of £35m against £13m at Origin Coffee on their latest filings. On margin, Origin Coffee keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
Grind v WatchHouse: which is bigger on the accounts?
VS Series COFFEECoffee chains
Full of beans, or feeling the grind?
Costa · Starbucks · Caffè Nero
3 companies compared →
RESTAURANTSSteak restaurants
Rare talent on the menu, but somebody is getting grilled
Hawksmoor · Goodman · Flat Iron · Blacklock
4 companies compared →
RESTAURANTSBurger chains
Top of the stack, or flipped?
Five Guys · Byron · Honest Burgers · GBK
4 companies compared →
RESTAURANTSPizza chains
The winner takes the biggest slice. The rest get the crusts.
Domino's · Pizza Hut · PizzaExpress
3 companies compared →