Grind: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Grind Holdings Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mr Richard John Koch. In the year to April 2025 Grind Holdings Ltd reported turnover of £35m.
- Registered name
- GRIND HOLDINGS LTD
- Company number
- 12812342
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 14 August 2020
- Registered office area
- East-Central London
- Industry code on the register
- 64209: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to April 2025, filed 31 January 2026
What does Grind do?
Grind is a London coffee company that runs its own cafés, roasts its own coffee and sells coffee beans, pods and instant coffee. Founded in 2011, it sells online and by subscription, its coffee is stocked by UK supermarkets, and it supplies coffee to other businesses. Its coffee pods are home-compostable.
In brief: coffee shops and roaster · compostable pods · online, subscriptions and supermarkets
Source: Grind's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.
Who owns Grind?
The Companies House register records Mr Richard John Koch as the person with significant control of Grind Holdings Ltd, company number 12812342.
The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Grind?
The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for Grind Holdings Ltd.
All 6 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| David William Abrahamovitch | 14 August 2020 |
| Daniel Sherfield | 27 August 2020 |
| John Antony Cleeve Ayton | 27 August 2020 |
| Jamie Martin Reeve | 1 November 2021 |
| Edward Robinson | 1 November 2021 |
| Timothy Brian Bunting | 1 November 2021 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Grind file?
Grind Holdings Ltd reported turnover of £35m in the year to April 2025. That was up 18.5% on £30m the year before.
It reported 328 employees. The year before it reported 296.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £9m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £6m the year before.
Staff costs came to £11m. That is an average of £33,000 a head. It ended the year with £2m at the bank and net assets of £6m.
| Measure | Apr 2025 | Apr 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £35m | £30m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£9m (filed) | -£6m (filed) |
| Employees | 328 | 296 |
| Staff costs | £11m | £8m |
| Average staff cost per head | £33,000 | £28,000 |
| Bank and cash | £2m | £4m |
| Net assets | £6m | £11m |
| Interest paid | £0.8m |
Read the accounts to April 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Grind?
Grind Holdings Ltd has registered 1 charge at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
The outstanding charge
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Hsbc UK Bank PLC | 7 October 2021 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
How Grind compares
Grind files as Grind Holdings Ltd, whose person with significant control is Mr Richard John Koch, with turnover of £35m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Grind
What does Grind do?
Grind is a London coffee company that runs its own cafés, roasts its own coffee and sells coffee beans, pods and instant coffee. Founded in 2011, it sells online and by subscription, its coffee is stocked by UK supermarkets, and it supplies coffee to other businesses. Its coffee pods are home-compostable.
Who owns Grind?
The Companies House register records Mr Richard John Koch as the person with significant control of Grind Holdings Ltd.
How much does Grind make?
Grind Holdings Ltd reported turnover of £35m in the year to April 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £9m.
How many people work at Grind?
Grind Holdings Ltd reported 328 employees in the year to April 2025.
Who runs Grind?
The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for Grind Holdings Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Grind Holdings Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 12812342, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Grind: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/grind/. Figures from Companies House filings for GRIND HOLDINGS LTD (12812342).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
Grind v WatchHouse: which is bigger on the accounts?
Read →Battle
The battle of the UK coffee roasters: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Wetherspoons: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greggs: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
McDonald's: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series