Accounts to January 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed June 2025

Origin Coffee: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Origin Coffee Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Origin Coffee (Holdings) Limited. In the year to January 2025 Origin Coffee Ltd reported turnover of £13m.

£13m
Turnover, up 18.3%
£0.6m
Pre-tax profit
76
Employees
Registered name
ORIGIN COFFEE LTD
Company number
05410302
Status
Active
Incorporated
1 April 2005
Registered office area
Truro
Industry code on the register
10832: Manufacture of food products
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to January 2025, filed 2 June 2025

What does Origin Coffee do?

Origin Coffee is a speciality coffee roaster that sells coffee beans online, through subscriptions and wholesale, and runs its own coffee shops. It was founded in 2004 by Tom Sobey and roasts at its Roastery HQ in Cornwall, with coffee shops in Cornwall, Bristol, London (including its Shoreditch flagship) and Edinburgh. Alongside beans it sells capsules, cold brew, brewing equipment and coffee courses, including SCA barista training. It is a certified B Corp and sources coffee through direct relationships with farmers and producers.

In brief: speciality coffee roaster · Cornwall roastery · online, subscriptions and wholesale · coffee shops and courses

Source: Origin Coffee's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns Origin Coffee?

Origin Coffee Ltd
Origin Coffee · company 05410302
Origin Coffee (Holdings) Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Origin Coffee (Holdings) Limited as the person with significant control of Origin Coffee Ltd, company number 05410302. Origin Coffee (Holdings) Limited is itself company number 08604373.

That places Origin Coffee Ltd inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Origin Coffee?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Origin Coffee Ltd.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Thomas Matthew Sobey1 April 2005
Daniel John Goodenough16 May 2016
Hui Jung Yuan15 September 2023

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Origin Coffee file?

Origin Coffee Ltd reported turnover of £13m in the year to January 2025. That was up 18.3% on £11m the year before.

It reported 76 employees. The year before it reported 69.

Staff costs came to £3m. That is an average of £39,000 a head. It ended the year with £0.8m at the bank and net assets of £1.7m.

Jan 2025£22.27£71.82£4.86 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJan 2025Jan 2024
Turnover£13m£11m
Pre-tax profit£0.6m (filed)
Employees7669
Staff costs£3m
Average staff cost per head£39,000
Bank and cash£0.8m£1.0m
Net assets£1.7m£1.2m
Interest paid£0.1m
Interest received£29k
Directors' pay£0.5m

Read the accounts to January 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Origin Coffee?

Origin Coffee Ltd has registered 7 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 3 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Hsbc Invoice Finance (UK) Limited28 April 2026
Hsbc UK Bank PLC27 April 2026
Hsbc UK Bank PLC27 April 2026

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Origin Coffee files as Origin Coffee Ltd, whose person with significant control is Origin Coffee (Holdings) Limited, with turnover of £13m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Origin Coffee

What does Origin Coffee do?

Origin Coffee is a speciality coffee roaster that sells coffee beans online, through subscriptions and wholesale, and runs its own coffee shops. It was founded in 2004 by Tom Sobey and roasts at its Roastery HQ in Cornwall, with coffee shops in Cornwall, Bristol, London (including its Shoreditch flagship) and Edinburgh. Alongside beans it sells capsules, cold brew, brewing equipment and coffee courses, including SCA barista training. It is a certified B Corp and sources coffee through direct relationships with farmers and producers.

Who owns Origin Coffee?

The Companies House register records Origin Coffee (Holdings) Limited as the person with significant control of Origin Coffee Ltd.

How much does Origin Coffee make?

Origin Coffee Ltd reported turnover of £13m in the year to January 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.6m.

How many people work at Origin Coffee?

Origin Coffee Ltd reported 76 employees in the year to January 2025.

Who runs Origin Coffee?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Origin Coffee Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Origin Coffee Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 05410302, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Origin Coffee: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/origin-coffee/. Figures from Companies House filings for ORIGIN COFFEE LTD (05410302).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings