VS Series

Taylor Wimpey v Persimmon

Two of Britain's biggest housebuilders, brick by brick

Persimmon leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Taylor Wimpey is the biggest by turnover at £3,845m, against £3,751m at Persimmon. Persimmon keeps more of every £100 it takes, £10.59 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like.

Accounts compared: Taylor Wimpey to Dec 2025 · Persimmon to Dec 2025

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 Taylor WimpeyTaylor Wimpey PLC £3,845m +13.0% £147m 3.8% 4,496 £75,000 £855,000 £4,187m £430m Dec 2025 Group
2 PersimmonPersimmon Public Limited Company £3,751m +17.2% £397m 10.6% 4,574 £70,000 £820,000 £3,614m £117m Dec 2025 Group

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Persimmon converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £10.59 reaches pre-tax profit, against £3.81 at Taylor Wimpey.
  2. Taylor Wimpey is the largest on the top line, £3,845m of turnover, 1.0x Persimmon's £3,751m.
  3. Persimmon is growing fastest, turnover +17.2% on its own prior year.
  4. Persimmon is the biggest employer with 4,574 people; Taylor Wimpey pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £75,000.
  5. Taylor Wimpey has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £4,187m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Persimmon keeps the most: £10.59 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Taylor Wimpey keeps the least, £3.81.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £8.52 of every £100£8.52Financing: £1.01 of every £100Other costs: £79.88 of every £100Other costs£79.88Profit: £10.59 of every £100Profit £10.59PersimmonYear to Dec 2025£3,751m turnoverPayroll: £8.72 of every £100£8.72Financing: £1.10 of every £100Other costs: £86.36 of every £100Other costs£86.36Profit: £3.81 of every £100Profit £3.81Taylor WimpeyYear to Dec 2025£3,845m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Taylor Wimpey (£3,845m), Persimmon (£3,751m).

By headcount, Persimmon leads with 4,574 employees.

The accounting periods all end in the same month. All are on the same filing basis.

Taylor Wimpey£3,845mPersimmon£3,751m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Persimmon grew fastest, turnover +17.2% on its own prior year, ahead of Taylor Wimpey (+13.0%).

Persimmon+17.2%Taylor Wimpey+13.0%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Persimmon employs the most, 4,574 people, against 4,496 at Taylor Wimpey.

Taylor Wimpey has the highest average staff cost, about £75,000 a head; Persimmon the lowest, about £70,000.

Taylor Wimpey brings in the most turnover per employee, about £855,000, against £820,000 at Persimmon. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureTaylor WimpeyPersimmon
Registered nameTAYLOR WIMPEY PLCPERSIMMON PUBLIC LIMITED COMPANY
Company number0029680501818486
Incorporated19351984
Accounts filed20 June 202621 May 2026
Turnover, prior year£3,401m£3,201m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£320m£359m
Staff costs£335m£320m
Payroll share of turnover8.7%8.5%
Employees, prior year4,4584,537
Dividends paid£330m£192m
Charges outstanding06

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Taylor Wimpey v Persimmon: common questions

Who is the biggest of Taylor Wimpey or Persimmon?

Taylor Wimpey, with turnover of £3,845m in the year to December 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

Persimmon: £397m pre-tax in the year to December 2025.

Which employs the most people?

Persimmon, with 4,574 employees in its latest accounts.

Taylor Wimpey or Persimmon: which is bigger?

Taylor Wimpey, with turnover of £3,845m against £3,751m at Persimmon on their latest filings. On margin, Persimmon keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.