The Gym Group: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
The Gym Group PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to December 2025 it reported turnover of £245m.
- Registered name
- THE GYM GROUP PLC
- Company number
- 08528493
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 14 May 2013
- Registered office area
- South West London
- Industry code on the register
- 64209: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2025, filed 16 May 2026
What does The Gym Group do?
The Gym Group runs low-cost gyms across the UK, open 24 hours a day with no-contract membership. It was founded in 2007 and was a pioneer of the low-cost gym model. Members pay a monthly fee, choosing between several membership tiers, for unlimited training, free group exercise classes and access to personal trainers. It sets itself apart through low prices and flexible terms. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.
In brief: low-cost gyms · 24/7 opening · no-contract membership · listed
Source: The Gym Group's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.
Who owns The Gym Group?
The Gym Group PLC, company number 08528493, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs The Gym Group?
The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for The Gym Group PLC.
All 8 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| John Robert Treharne | 13 June 2013 |
| Elaine Margaret O'Donnell | 30 August 2022 |
| Richard Mark Stables | 30 August 2022 |
| Luke Logan Tait | 17 October 2022 |
| Simon Edward Jones | 6 February 2023 |
| William John Orr | 1 September 2023 |
| Alison Camille Skerritt | 3 October 2024 |
| Tamsin Maria Todd Defriez | 1 May 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did The Gym Group file?
The Gym Group PLC reported turnover of £245m in the year to December 2025. That was up 8.2% on £226m the year before.
It reported 1,924 employees. The year before it reported 1,837.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £7m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £3m the year before.
Staff costs came to £59m. That is an average of £31,000 a head. It ended the year with £3m at the bank and net assets of £142m.
| Measure | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £245m | £226m |
| Pre-tax profit | £7m (filed) | £3m (filed) |
| Employees | 1,924 | 1,837 |
| Staff costs | £59m | £51m |
| Average staff cost per head | £31,000 | £27,000 |
| Bank and cash | £3m | £3m |
| Net assets | £142m | £132m |
| Interest paid | £22m | |
| Interest received | £0.9m | |
| Directors' pay | £5m |
Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
How The Gym Group compares
The Gym Group files as The Gym Group PLC, with turnover of £245m in its latest filed year.
Questions about The Gym Group
What does The Gym Group do?
The Gym Group runs low-cost gyms across the UK, open 24 hours a day with no-contract membership. It was founded in 2007 and was a pioneer of the low-cost gym model. Members pay a monthly fee, choosing between several membership tiers, for unlimited training, free group exercise classes and access to personal trainers. It sets itself apart through low prices and flexible terms. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.
Who owns The Gym Group?
The Gym Group PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.
How much does The Gym Group make?
The Gym Group PLC reported turnover of £245m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £7m.
How many people work at The Gym Group?
The Gym Group PLC reported 1,924 employees in the year to December 2025.
Who runs The Gym Group?
The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for The Gym Group PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from The Gym Group PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 08528493, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “The Gym Group: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/the-gym-group/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE GYM GROUP PLC (08528493).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
PureGym v The Gym Group: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Battle
The battle of the budget 24-hour gyms: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Nuffield Health: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
David Lloyd: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
PureGym: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series