Accounts to January 2026 · Group accounts · Filed August 2026

JD Sports: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

JD Sports Fashion PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to January 2026 it reported turnover of £12,662m.

£12,662m
Turnover, up 10.5%
£629m
Pre-tax profit
65,027
Employees
Registered name
JD SPORTS FASHION PLC
Company number
01888425
Status
Active
Incorporated
21 February 1985
Registered office area
Bolton
Industry code on the register
47710: Retail trade
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to January 2026, filed 5 August 2026

What does JD Sports do?

JD Sports is a retailer of branded sportswear, trainers and outdoor clothing, selling brands such as Nike and adidas through its own stores and websites. JD Sports Fashion plc runs the JD chain and other retail brands in the UK, Europe, North America and Asia Pacific. It relies on close ties with the big sportswear brands, which give it access to exclusive and limited lines. It began in 1981 with a single store in the North West of England and is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: sportswear and trainer retailer · branded products · stores and online worldwide · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: jdplc.com.

Who owns JD Sports?

JD Sports Fashion PLC
JD Sports · company 01888425
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

JD Sports Fashion PLC, company number 01888425, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs JD Sports?

The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for JD Sports Fashion PLC.

All 12 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Kathryn Louise Smith13 May 2019
Andrew Michael Long6 May 2021
Hubertus Georg Hoyt8 September 2021
Régis Schultz1 September 2022
Ian Dyson9 March 2023
Theresa Casey11 April 2023
Angela Luger1 June 2023
Darren Shapland1 June 2023
Dominic James Platt4 October 2023
Prama Bhatt23 September 2024
Sarah Mary Kuijlaars10 November 2025
Peter Agnefjäll1 September 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did JD Sports file?

JD Sports Fashion PLC reported turnover of £12,662m in the year to January 2026. That was up 10.5% on £11,458m the year before.

It reported 65,027 employees. The year before it reported 59,756.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £629m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £715m the year before.

Staff costs came to £1,954m. That is an average of £30,000 a head. It ended the year with £854m at the bank and net assets of £2,990m. It paid dividends of £48m.

Jan 2026£15.43£78.27£4.97 profit
Jan 2025£15.23£78.53£6.24 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJan 2026Jan 2025
Turnover£12,662m£11,458m
Pre-tax profit£629m (filed)£715m (filed)
Employees65,02759,756
Staff costs£1,954m£1,745m
Average staff cost per head£30,000£29,000
Bank and cash£854m£731m
Net assets£2,990m£2,922m
Dividends paid£48m£48m
Interest paid£169m
Directors' pay£5m

Read the accounts to January 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against JD Sports?

JD Sports Fashion PLC has registered 26 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Mizrahi Tefahot Bank LTD.5 August 2024

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How JD Sports compares

JD Sports files as JD Sports Fashion PLC, with turnover of £12,662m in its latest filed year.

Questions about JD Sports

What does JD Sports do?

JD Sports is a retailer of branded sportswear, trainers and outdoor clothing, selling brands such as Nike and adidas through its own stores and websites. JD Sports Fashion plc runs the JD chain and other retail brands in the UK, Europe, North America and Asia Pacific. It relies on close ties with the big sportswear brands, which give it access to exclusive and limited lines. It began in 1981 with a single store in the North West of England and is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns JD Sports?

JD Sports Fashion PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does JD Sports make?

JD Sports Fashion PLC reported turnover of £12,662m in the year to January 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £629m.

How many people work at JD Sports?

JD Sports Fashion PLC reported 65,027 employees in the year to January 2026.

Who runs JD Sports?

The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for JD Sports Fashion PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from JD Sports Fashion PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 01888425, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “JD Sports: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/jd-sports/. Figures from Companies House filings for JD SPORTS FASHION PLC (01888425).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings