Starbucks: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Starbucks Coffee Holdings (Uk) Limited. In the year to September 2025 Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited reported turnover of £556m.
- Registered name
- STARBUCKS COFFEE COMPANY (UK) LIMITED
- Company number
- 02959325
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 16 August 1994
- Registered office area
- West London
- Industry code on the register
- 56102: Food and beverage service activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to September 2025, filed 8 April 2026
What does Starbucks do?
Starbucks runs coffee shops in the UK serving coffee, other drinks and food. The UK business operates its own stores and also works with franchise and licence partners, who run Starbucks stores at places such as stations, airports and drive-thrus. Customers can order through its app, which runs the Starbucks Rewards scheme. The brand started in Seattle in 1971 and is owned by the US-based Starbucks Corporation.
In brief: coffee shop chain · company-run, franchised and licensed stores · app ordering and rewards · US-owned
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: starbucks.co.uk.
Who owns Starbucks?
The Companies House register records Starbucks Coffee Holdings (Uk) Limited as the person with significant control of Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited, company number 02959325. Starbucks Coffee Holdings (Uk) Limited is itself company number 03346087.
That places Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Starbucks?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited.
All 3 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Michael William Lingham | 1 February 2022 |
| Bernardin Damien Michael Malou | 11 November 2024 |
| Darren Anthony King | 14 May 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Starbucks file?
Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited reported turnover of £556m in the year to September 2025. That was up 5.8% on £526m the year before.
It reported 5,352 employees. The year before it reported 5,596.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £41m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £35m the year before.
Staff costs came to £129m. That is an average of £24,000 a head. It ended the year with £30m at the bank and net assets of £68m.
| Measure | Sep 2025 | Sep 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £556m | £526m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£41m (filed) | -£35m (filed) |
| Employees | 5,352 | 5,596 |
| Staff costs | £129m | £119m |
| Average staff cost per head | £24,000 | £21,000 |
| Bank and cash | £30m | £20m |
| Net assets | £68m | £5m |
| Interest paid | £10m | |
| Interest received | £0.3m | |
| Directors' pay | £1.0m |
Read the accounts to September 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Starbucks?
Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited has registered 25 charges at Companies House, of which 24 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 24 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| The Governors of the Peabody Trust | 27 January 2011 |
| Stephenson House Limited | 14 July 2010 |
| Bullring No. 1 Limited and Bullring No. 2 Limited | 18 June 2010 |
| John Arthur and Helen Arthur | 10 November 2007 |
| Princesgate Estates Limited | 8 June 2007 |
| Shires (No 1) Limited and Shires (No 2) Limited | 9 November 2006 |
| Oracle Nominees (No.1) Limited and Oracle Nominees (No.2) Limited | 6 June 2006 |
| Gpe (88/104 Bishopgate) Limited | 2 August 2005 |
| Ppg Metro Lime Street Limited | 8 December 2004 |
| Bull Ring No.1 Limited and Bull Ring No.2 Limited | 14 August 2004 |
| Salih Partalci and Sezin Partalci | 28 July 2004 |
| Oracle Nominees (No.1) Limited and Oracle Nominees (NO2) Limited | 11 December 2003 |
| Mostyn Estates Limited | 14 November 2003 |
| Roy Edward Noseda, Frances Susannah Noseda and Jeremy James Noseda | 27 February 2003 |
| Magnet Limited | 21 February 2003 |
| Sbci Investment Banking Limited | 19 February 2003 |
| The Mayor and Commonalty and Citizens of the City of London | 18 February 2003 |
| Dreamplant Limited | 18 February 2003 |
| Anup Kumar Saggar | 15 February 2003 |
| Capp Nominees Limited | 15 February 2003 |
| Allied Dunbar Assurance PLC | 11 February 2003 |
| Strangford Developments Limited | 12 December 2001 |
| Sir Simon Michael Hornby Henry Merton Henderson & John Arthur Courtenay Drake(As Trustees of the Ilchester Estate) | 22 September 2001 |
| Mrc Pension Trust Limited | 4 August 2001 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
How Starbucks compares
Starbucks files as Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited, whose person with significant control is Starbucks Coffee Holdings (Uk) Limited, with turnover of £556m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Starbucks
What does Starbucks do?
Starbucks runs coffee shops in the UK serving coffee, other drinks and food. The UK business operates its own stores and also works with franchise and licence partners, who run Starbucks stores at places such as stations, airports and drive-thrus. Customers can order through its app, which runs the Starbucks Rewards scheme. The brand started in Seattle in 1971 and is owned by the US-based Starbucks Corporation.
Who owns Starbucks?
The Companies House register records Starbucks Coffee Holdings (Uk) Limited as the person with significant control of Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited.
How much does Starbucks make?
Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited reported turnover of £556m in the year to September 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £41m.
How many people work at Starbucks?
Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited reported 5,352 employees in the year to September 2025.
Who runs Starbucks?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Starbucks Coffee Company (UK) Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02959325, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Starbucks: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/starbucks/. Figures from Companies House filings for STARBUCKS COFFEE COMPANY (UK) LIMITED (02959325).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
Costa v Starbucks: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Battle
The battle of the coffee chains: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Wetherspoons: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greggs: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
McDonald's: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series