Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed December 2025

Costa: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Costa Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is The Coca-Cola Company. It holds 75% or more of the company. In the year to December 2024 Costa Limited reported turnover of £1,232m.

£1,232m
Turnover, up 0.7%
£65m
Pre-tax profit
17,957
Employees
Registered name
COSTA LIMITED
Company number
01270695
Status
Active
Incorporated
28 July 1976
Registered office area
Hemel Hempstead
Industry code on the register
10832: Manufacture of food products
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 30 December 2025

What does Costa do?

Costa is a coffee chain selling coffee, other hot and cold drinks, and food to eat in or take away. Brothers Sergio and Bruno Costa founded it in London in 1971. It sells through company-run and franchised coffee shops, Costa Express self-serve machines at petrol stations and other sites, and packaged coffee and canned drinks sold in supermarkets. It roasts its own coffee blends.

In brief: coffee shop chain · company-run and franchised shops · Costa Express machines · supermarket products

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: costa.co.uk.

Who owns Costa?

Costa Limited
Costa · company 01270695
The Coca-Cola Company
Company · holds 75% or more

The Companies House register records The Coca-Cola Company as the person with significant control of Costa Limited, company number 01270695. The Coca-Cola Company is itself company number 00088529. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights. The control was notified on 3 January 2019.

That places Costa Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Costa?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Costa Limited.

All 5 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Nicholas Clive Orrin6 April 2023
Philippe Dirk M. Schaillee11 April 2023
Suzanne Werner10 July 2025
Benjamin William James Capon23 July 2025
Katharine Laura Grimwood1 July 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Costa file?

Costa Limited reported turnover of £1,232m in the year to December 2024. That was up 0.7% on £1,223m the year before.

It reported 17,957 employees. The year before it reported 17,809.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £65m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £10m the year before.

Staff costs came to £394m. That is an average of £22,000 a head. It ended the year with £136m at the bank and net assets of £264m. It paid dividends of £80m.

Dec 2024£31.97£61.59£5.28 profit
Dec 2023£30.47£70.32£0.79 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£1,232m£1,223m
Pre-tax profit£65m (filed)-£10m (filed)
Employees17,95717,809
Staff costs£394m£373m
Average staff cost per head£22,000£21,000
Bank and cash£136m£244m
Net assets£264m£277m
Dividends paid£80m£85m
Interest paid£14m
Interest received£8m
Directors' pay£3m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Costa?

Costa Limited has registered 6 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 3 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Provincial Weekly Newspapers Limited17 April 2004
Gollard Corporation Inc28 November 2001
Allied Dunbar Assurance PLC3 October 2001

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Costa compares

Costa files as Costa Limited, whose person with significant control is The Coca-Cola Company, with turnover of £1,232m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Costa

What does Costa do?

Costa is a coffee chain selling coffee, other hot and cold drinks, and food to eat in or take away. Brothers Sergio and Bruno Costa founded it in London in 1971. It sells through company-run and franchised coffee shops, Costa Express self-serve machines at petrol stations and other sites, and packaged coffee and canned drinks sold in supermarkets. It roasts its own coffee blends.

Who owns Costa?

The Companies House register records The Coca-Cola Company as the person with significant control of Costa Limited. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights.

How much does Costa make?

Costa Limited reported turnover of £1,232m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £65m.

How many people work at Costa?

Costa Limited reported 17,957 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Costa?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Costa Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Costa Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01270695, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Costa: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/costa/. Figures from Companies House filings for COSTA LIMITED (01270695).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings