VS Series

Specsavers v Vision Express

Should've gone to... the accounts

Specsavers leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Specsavers is the biggest by turnover at £4,262m, against £430m at Vision Express. Specsavers keeps more of every £100 it takes, £10.08 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are up to 14 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. Specsavers files group accounts that include subsidiaries; Vision Express files for a single company, which flatters the group on size.

Accounts compared: Specsavers to Feb 2026 · Vision Express to Dec 2024

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 SpecsaversSpecsavers Optical Superstores Limited £4,262m +7.0% £430m 10.1% 46,616 £36,000 £91,000 £358m £233m Feb 2026 Group
2 Vision ExpressVision Express (UK) Limited £430m +11.7% £39m 9.0% 3,623 £41,000 £119,000 £69m £0.6m Dec 2024 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Specsavers converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £10.08 reaches pre-tax profit, against £9.05 at Vision Express.
  2. Specsavers is the largest on the top line, £4,262m of turnover, 9.9x Vision Express's £430m.
  3. Vision Express is growing fastest, turnover +11.7% on its own prior year.
  4. Specsavers is the biggest employer with 46,616 people; Vision Express pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £41,000.
  5. Specsavers has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £358m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Specsavers keeps the most: £10.08 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Vision Express keeps the least, £9.05.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £39.14 of every £100Payroll£39.14Financing: £0.18 of every £100Other costs: £50.60 of every £100Other costs£50.60Profit: £10.08 of every £100Profit £10.08SpecsaversYear to Feb 2026£4,262m turnoverPayroll: £34.52 of every £100Payroll£34.52Financing: £0.06 of every £100Other costs: £56.37 of every £100Other costs£56.37Profit: £9.05 of every £100Profit £9.05Vision ExpressYear to Dec 2024£430m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Specsavers (£4,262m), Vision Express (£430m).

By headcount, Specsavers leads with 46,616 employees.

The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Specsavers to Feb 2026, Vision Express to Dec 2024. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

Specsavers£4,262mVision Express£430m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Vision Express grew fastest, turnover +11.7% on its own prior year, ahead of Specsavers (+7.0%).

Vision Express+11.7%Specsavers+7.0%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Specsavers employs the most, 46,616 people, against 3,623 at Vision Express.

Vision Express has the highest average staff cost, about £41,000 a head; Specsavers the lowest, about £36,000.

Vision Express brings in the most turnover per employee, about £119,000, against £91,000 at Specsavers. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureSpecsaversVision Express
Registered nameSPECSAVERS OPTICAL SUPERSTORES LIMITEDVISION EXPRESS (UK) LIMITED
Company number0172162402189907
Incorporated19831987
Accounts filed19 August 202613 October 2025
Turnover, prior year£3,985m£385m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£339m£8m
Staff costs£1,668m£148m
Payroll share of turnover39.1%34.5%
Employees, prior year46,2833,638
Dividends paidn/dn/d
Charges outstanding10

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Specsavers v Vision Express: common questions

Who is the biggest of Specsavers or Vision Express?

Specsavers, with turnover of £4,262m in the year to February 2026.

Which makes the most profit?

Specsavers: £430m pre-tax in the year to February 2026.

Which employs the most people?

Specsavers, with 46,616 employees in its latest accounts.

Specsavers or Vision Express: which is bigger?

Specsavers, with turnover of £4,262m against £430m at Vision Express on their latest filings. On margin, Specsavers keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.