Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed October 2025

Sky: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Sky UK Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Sky Limited. In the year to December 2024 Sky UK Limited reported turnover of £10,396m.

£10,396m
Turnover, up 1.6%
£253m
Pre-tax profit
10,179
Employees
Registered name
SKY UK LIMITED
Company number
02906991
Status
Active
Incorporated
10 March 1994
Registered office area
Twickenham
Industry code on the register
59113: Motion picture, video and television programme production, sound recording and music publishing
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 1 October 2025

What does Sky do?

Sky provides pay television, broadband, mobile and home phone services to households in the UK and Ireland. It makes money mainly from monthly subscriptions for TV packages, streaming and connectivity, along with advertising on its channels. It produces and broadcasts its own channels, including Sky Sports, Sky News and Sky Atlantic, and sells TV through satellite, broadband-connected boxes and its own televisions. Sky is owned by Comcast, the US media group.

In brief: pay TV and broadband · subscriptions and advertising · Sky Sports and Sky News · owned by Comcast

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: sky.com.

Who owns Sky?

Sky UK Limited
Sky · company 02906991
Sky Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Sky Limited as the person with significant control of Sky UK Limited, company number 02906991. Sky Limited is itself company number 02247735.

That places Sky UK Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Sky?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Sky UK Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Sky Corporate Secretary Limited5 June 2019
Paul Wedlock28 June 2024
Roderick Gregor McNeil10 December 2024
Barnaby Tristan Mills6 March 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Sky file?

Sky UK Limited reported turnover of £10,396m in the year to December 2024. That was up 1.6% on £10,232m the year before.

It reported 10,179 employees. The year before it reported 10,036.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £253m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £773m the year before.

Staff costs came to £864m. That is an average of £85,000 a head. It ended the year with £181m at the bank and net assets of £5,834m.

Dec 2024£85.22£2.43 profit
Dec 2023£98.89£7.55 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£10,396m£10,232m
Pre-tax profit£253m (filed)-£773m (filed)
Employees10,17910,036
Staff costs£864m£887m
Average staff cost per head£85,000£88,000
Bank and cash£181m£178m
Net assets£5,834m£4,691m
Interest paid£420m
Interest received£14m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Sky?

Sky UK Limited has registered 6 charges at Companies House, of which 4 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 4 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Lionel Finance Limited as Purchaser5 December 2017
David Hatcher23 January 2013
Abn Amro Bank N.V.30 March 2000
Abn Amro Bank N.V.23 December 1999

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Sky compares

Sky files as Sky UK Limited, whose person with significant control is Sky Limited, with turnover of £10,396m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Sky

What does Sky do?

Sky provides pay television, broadband, mobile and home phone services to households in the UK and Ireland. It makes money mainly from monthly subscriptions for TV packages, streaming and connectivity, along with advertising on its channels. It produces and broadcasts its own channels, including Sky Sports, Sky News and Sky Atlantic, and sells TV through satellite, broadband-connected boxes and its own televisions. Sky is owned by Comcast, the US media group.

Who owns Sky?

The Companies House register records Sky Limited as the person with significant control of Sky UK Limited.

How much does Sky make?

Sky UK Limited reported turnover of £10,396m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £253m.

How many people work at Sky?

Sky UK Limited reported 10,179 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Sky?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Sky UK Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Sky UK Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02906991, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Sky: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/sky/. Figures from Companies House filings for SKY UK LIMITED (02906991).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings