BT: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
British Telecommunications Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Bt Group Investments Limited. In the year to March 2026 British Telecommunications Limited reported turnover of £19,654m.
- Registered name
- BRITISH TELECOMMUNICATIONS LIMITED
- Company number
- 01800000
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 1 April 1984
- Registered office area
- East London
- Industry code on the register
- 61900: Telecommunications
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to March 2026, filed 26 June 2026
What does BT do?
British Telecommunications is the main operating company of BT Group, providing broadband, mobile, TV and phone services to homes and businesses in the UK. It earns money from customer subscriptions under brands including BT, EE and Plusnet, from network and IT contracts with businesses and the public sector, and from wholesale services. It also owns Openreach, which runs the UK's main fixed broadband network, and is itself owned by BT Group plc.
In brief: broadband, mobile and TV · consumer and business contracts · owns Openreach · owned by BT Group
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: bt.com.
Who owns BT?
The Companies House register records Bt Group Investments Limited as the person with significant control of British Telecommunications Limited, company number 01800000. Bt Group Investments Limited is itself company number 04278695.
That places British Telecommunications Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs BT?
The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for British Telecommunications Limited.
All 6 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Neil Richard Harris | 17 October 2017 |
| Edward John Heaton | 4 March 2020 |
| Daniel Thomas Rider | 1 April 2021 |
| Antony John Gara | 15 November 2022 |
| Helen Charnley | 14 April 2025 |
| Patricia Cobian | 1 September 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did BT file?
British Telecommunications Limited reported turnover of £19,654m in the year to March 2026. That was down 3.5% on £20,358m the year before.
The year before it reported 91.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £2,084m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £2,061m the year before.
Staff costs came to £4,540m. It ended the year with £352m at the bank and net assets of £24,990m. It paid dividends of £1,500m.
| Measure | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £19,654m | £20,358m |
| Pre-tax profit | £2,084m (filed) | £2,061m (filed) |
| Employees | n/d | 91 |
| Staff costs | £4,540m | £4,786m |
| Average staff cost per head | n/d | £52,593,000 |
| Bank and cash | £352m | £209m |
| Net assets | £24,990m | £25,431m |
| Dividends paid | £1,500m | £780m |
| Interest paid | £1,399m | |
| Interest received | £797m | |
| Directors' pay | £3m |
Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against BT?
British Telecommunications Limited has registered 25 charges at Companies House, of which 24 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 24 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 7 May 2003 |
| Citicorp Trustee Company Limited as Trustee for the Ht Secured Creditors | 7 May 2003 |
| Citicorp Trustee Company Limited,as Trustee for the Ht Secured Creditors | 18 June 2002 |
| Citicorp Trustee Company Limited (The Ht Security Trustee) | 15 May 2002 |
| Citicrop Trustee Company Limited as Trustee for the Ht Securied Creditors (The Ht Securitytrustee) | 8 May 2002 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal General Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal General Property Trustee 2 Limited | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal General Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal General Property Trustee 2 Limited | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal General Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal General Property Trustee 2 Limited | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal General Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal General Property Trustee 2 Limited | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal General Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal General Property Trustee 2 Limited | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 1 Limited and Telereal Securitised Property Trustee 2LIMITED | 24 December 2001 |
| Telereal General Property Trustee 1 Limited (The "Property Agent") | 21 December 2001 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
How BT compares
BT files as British Telecommunications Limited, whose person with significant control is Bt Group Investments Limited, with turnover of £19,654m in its latest filed year.
Questions about BT
What does BT do?
British Telecommunications is the main operating company of BT Group, providing broadband, mobile, TV and phone services to homes and businesses in the UK. It earns money from customer subscriptions under brands including BT, EE and Plusnet, from network and IT contracts with businesses and the public sector, and from wholesale services. It also owns Openreach, which runs the UK's main fixed broadband network, and is itself owned by BT Group plc.
Who owns BT?
The Companies House register records Bt Group Investments Limited as the person with significant control of British Telecommunications Limited.
How much does BT make?
British Telecommunications Limited reported turnover of £19,654m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £2,084m.
Who runs BT?
The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for British Telecommunications Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from British Telecommunications Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01800000, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “BT: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/bt/. Figures from Companies House filings for BRITISH TELECOMMUNICATIONS LIMITED (01800000).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
BT v Sky: which is bigger on the accounts?
Read →Battle
The battle of broadband and mobile: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Sky: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Virgin Media O2: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
EE: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series