Accounts to December 2025 · Group accounts · Filed May 2026

Virgin Media O2: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Vmed O2 UK Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Liberty Global Europe 2 Limited. In the year to December 2025 Vmed O2 UK Limited reported turnover of £10,113m.

£10,113m
Turnover, down 5.3%
-£1,754m
Pre-tax profit
17,058
Employees
Registered name
VMED O2 UK LIMITED
Company number
12580944
Status
Active
Incorporated
30 April 2020
Registered office area
Reading
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 4 May 2026

What does Virgin Media O2 do?

Virgin Media O2 provides mobile, broadband, TV and home phone services to UK households and businesses. It sells under two consumer brands: O2 for mobile and Virgin Media for broadband and TV over its own cable and fibre network. It makes money from monthly contracts and bundles that combine services. The company was formed in 2021 as a joint venture between Liberty Global and Telefónica, and trades through VMED O2 UK Limited.

In brief: telecoms · mobile, broadband and TV · O2 and Virgin Media brands · Liberty Global and Telefónica joint venture

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: virginmediao2.co.uk.

Who owns Virgin Media O2?

Vmed O2 UK Limited
Virgin Media O2 · company 12580944
Liberty Global Europe 2 Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Liberty Global Europe 2 Limited as the person with significant control of Vmed O2 UK Limited, company number 12580944. Liberty Global Europe 2 Limited is itself company number 08380130.

That places Vmed O2 UK Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Virgin Media O2?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Vmed O2 UK Limited.

All 9 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Charles Henry Rowland Bracken30 April 2020
Michael Thomas Fries1 June 2021
Enrique Rodriguez1 June 2021
Ángel Vilá Boix1 June 2021
Enrique Medina Malo1 June 2021
Andrea Vincenzo Salvato1 June 2021
Marc Thomas Murtra Millar18 January 2025
Emilio Gayo Rodriguez24 March 2025
Juan Azcue Vich22 January 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Virgin Media O2 file?

Vmed O2 UK Limited reported turnover of £10,113m in the year to December 2025. That was down 5.3% on £10,681m the year before.

It reported 17,058 employees. The year before it reported 15,932.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £1,754m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £2m the year before.

Staff costs came to £1,235m. That is an average of £72,000 a head. It ended the year with £574m at the bank and net assets of £10,923m. It paid dividends of £483m.

Dec 2025£22.66£82.48£17.34 loss
Dec 2024£90.01£0.02 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£10,113m£10,681m
Pre-tax profit-£1,754m (filed)£2m (filed)
Employees17,05815,932
Staff costs£1,235m£1,065m
Average staff cost per head£72,000£67,000
Bank and cash£574m£1,128m
Net assets£10,923m£12,598m
Dividends paid£483m£850m
Interest paid£2,291m
Interest received£817m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Virgin Media O2?

Vmed O2 UK Limited has registered 2 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Bank Mendes Gans N.V.3 July 2024

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Virgin Media O2 files as Vmed O2 UK Limited, whose person with significant control is Liberty Global Europe 2 Limited, with turnover of £10,113m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Virgin Media O2

What does Virgin Media O2 do?

Virgin Media O2 provides mobile, broadband, TV and home phone services to UK households and businesses. It sells under two consumer brands: O2 for mobile and Virgin Media for broadband and TV over its own cable and fibre network. It makes money from monthly contracts and bundles that combine services. The company was formed in 2021 as a joint venture between Liberty Global and Telefónica, and trades through VMED O2 UK Limited.

Who owns Virgin Media O2?

The Companies House register records Liberty Global Europe 2 Limited as the person with significant control of Vmed O2 UK Limited.

How much does Virgin Media O2 make?

Vmed O2 UK Limited reported turnover of £10,113m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £1,754m.

How many people work at Virgin Media O2?

Vmed O2 UK Limited reported 17,058 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Virgin Media O2?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Vmed O2 UK Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Vmed O2 UK Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 12580944, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Virgin Media O2: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/virgin-media-o2/. Figures from Companies House filings for VMED O2 UK LIMITED (12580944).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings