Accounts to January 2026 · Single company accounts · Filed July 2026

Screwfix: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Screwfix Direct Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Kingfisher International Holdings Limited. In the year to January 2026 Screwfix Direct Limited reported turnover of £2,659m.

£2,659m
Turnover, up 4.7%
£245m
Pre-tax profit
12,877
Employees
Registered name
SCREWFIX DIRECT LIMITED
Company number
03006378
Status
Active
Incorporated
5 January 1995
Registered office area
Bath
Industry code on the register
46130: Wholesale trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to January 2026, filed 28 July 2026

What does Screwfix do?

Screwfix is a retailer of trade tools, hardware and building supplies, aimed mainly at tradespeople. It sells through stores across the UK, online and by phone, with click and collect in as little as a minute and delivery to store, home or site. Its focus on speed, convenience and affordable prices for trade customers sets it apart. It is based in Yeovil and owned by the home improvement group Kingfisher plc.

In brief: trade tools and hardware retailer · stores, online and phone · fast click and collect · owned by Kingfisher

Source: Screwfix's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns Screwfix?

Screwfix Direct Limited
Screwfix · company 03006378
Kingfisher International Holdings Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Kingfisher International Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Screwfix Direct Limited, company number 03006378. Kingfisher International Holdings Limited is itself company number 02558762.

That places Screwfix Direct Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Screwfix?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Screwfix Direct Limited.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Jonathan Mark Mewett3 March 2008
Max Nicholas Britten16 April 2018
Robert Derek Altoft10 November 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Screwfix file?

Screwfix Direct Limited reported turnover of £2,659m in the year to January 2026. That was up 4.7% on £2,539m the year before.

It reported 12,877 employees. The year before it reported 12,992.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £245m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £220m the year before.

Staff costs came to £356m. That is an average of £28,000 a head. It ended the year with £21m at the bank and net assets of £603m. It paid dividends of £350m.

Jan 2026£76.94£9.20 profit
Jan 2025£78.46£8.67 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJan 2026Jan 2025
Turnover£2,659m£2,539m
Pre-tax profit£245m (filed)£220m (filed)
Employees12,87712,992
Staff costs£356m£327m
Average staff cost per head£28,000£25,000
Bank and cash£21m£14m
Net assets£603m£779m
Dividends paid£350m
Interest paid£12m
Interest received£22m
Directors' pay£1.8m

Read the accounts to January 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Screwfix?

Screwfix Direct Limited has registered 3 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Screwfix compares

Screwfix files as Screwfix Direct Limited, whose person with significant control is Kingfisher International Holdings Limited, with turnover of £2,659m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Screwfix

What does Screwfix do?

Screwfix is a retailer of trade tools, hardware and building supplies, aimed mainly at tradespeople. It sells through stores across the UK, online and by phone, with click and collect in as little as a minute and delivery to store, home or site. Its focus on speed, convenience and affordable prices for trade customers sets it apart. It is based in Yeovil and owned by the home improvement group Kingfisher plc.

Who owns Screwfix?

The Companies House register records Kingfisher International Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Screwfix Direct Limited.

How much does Screwfix make?

Screwfix Direct Limited reported turnover of £2,659m in the year to January 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £245m.

How many people work at Screwfix?

Screwfix Direct Limited reported 12,877 employees in the year to January 2026.

Who runs Screwfix?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Screwfix Direct Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Screwfix Direct Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 03006378, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Screwfix: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/screwfix/. Figures from Companies House filings for SCREWFIX DIRECT LIMITED (03006378).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings