Accounts to January 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed September 2025

B&Q: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

B&Q Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Kingfisher France Limited. In the year to January 2025 B&Q Limited reported turnover of £3,686m.

£3,686m
Turnover, down 0.8%
£259m
Pre-tax profit
20,019
Employees
Registered name
B&Q LIMITED
Company number
00973387
Status
Active
Incorporated
26 February 1970
Registered office area
Southampton
Industry code on the register
47190: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to January 2025, filed 30 September 2025

What does B&Q do?

B&Q is a home improvement and garden retailer that sells DIY products, tools, building materials, kitchens, bathrooms, paint and outdoor goods. It has traded since 1969 and has over 300 stores across the UK and Ireland, alongside its diy.com website and online marketplace. It is part of Kingfisher plc and runs TradePoint, a membership service for tradespeople. Customers can buy in store or online, with home delivery and click and collect.

In brief: DIY and home improvement retailer · over 300 UK and Ireland stores · since 1969 · part of Kingfisher

Source: B&Q's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns B&Q?

B&Q Limited
B&Q · company 00973387
Kingfisher France Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Kingfisher France Limited as the person with significant control of B&Q Limited, company number 00973387. Kingfisher France Limited is itself company number 04213347.

That places B&Q Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs B&Q?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for B&Q Limited.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Graham Robert Bell1 October 2018
Geoffrey James Bryant1 August 2019
Robert Derek Altoft3 November 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did B&Q file?

B&Q Limited reported turnover of £3,686m in the year to January 2025. That was down 0.8% on £3,716m the year before.

It reported 20,019 employees. The year before it reported 21,478.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £259m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £169m the year before.

Staff costs came to £511m. That is an average of £26,000 a head. It ended the year with £27m at the bank and net assets of £2,481m.

Jan 2025£79.10£7.03 profit
Jan 2024£82.08£4.54 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJan 2025Jan 2024
Turnover£3,686m£3,716m
Pre-tax profit£259m (filed)£169m (filed)
Employees20,01921,478
Staff costs£511m£497m
Average staff cost per head£26,000£23,000
Bank and cash£27m£22m
Net assets£2,481m£2,559m
Interest received£45m
Directors' pay£1.6m

Read the accounts to January 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against B&Q?

B&Q Limited has registered 9 charges at Companies House, of which 7 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 7 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Colin Rodney Buchanan, Anthony John Waterlow14 July 1999
J Sainsbury PLC1 December 1992
Lloyds Bank PLC22 October 1980
Lloyds Bank PLC22 October 1980
Lloyds Bank PLC6 May 1980
Lloyds Bank PLC6 May 1980
Lloyds Bank PLC28 April 1980

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How B&Q compares

B&Q files as B&Q Limited, whose person with significant control is Kingfisher France Limited, with turnover of £3,686m in its latest filed year.

Questions about B&Q

What does B&Q do?

B&Q is a home improvement and garden retailer that sells DIY products, tools, building materials, kitchens, bathrooms, paint and outdoor goods. It has traded since 1969 and has over 300 stores across the UK and Ireland, alongside its diy.com website and online marketplace. It is part of Kingfisher plc and runs TradePoint, a membership service for tradespeople. Customers can buy in store or online, with home delivery and click and collect.

Who owns B&Q?

The Companies House register records Kingfisher France Limited as the person with significant control of B&Q Limited.

How much does B&Q make?

B&Q Limited reported turnover of £3,686m in the year to January 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £259m.

How many people work at B&Q?

B&Q Limited reported 20,019 employees in the year to January 2025.

Who runs B&Q?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for B&Q Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from B&Q Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 00973387, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “B&Q: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/b-and-q/. Figures from Companies House filings for B&Q LIMITED (00973387).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings