VS Series

Screwfix v Toolstation

Click, collect, compare: the trade counters go head to head

Screwfix leads on 5 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Screwfix is the biggest by turnover at £2,659m, against £745m at Toolstation. Screwfix keeps more of every £100 it takes, £9.20 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like.

Accounts compared: Screwfix to Jan 2026 · Toolstation to Dec 2025

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 ScrewfixScrewfix Direct Limited £2,659m +4.7% £245m 9.2% 12,877 £28,000 £206,000 £603m £21m Jan 2026 Single company
2 ToolstationToolstation Limited £745m +3.4% £37m 4.9% 5,274 £27,000 £141,000 £147m £3m Dec 2025 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Screwfix converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £9.20 reaches pre-tax profit, against £4.92 at Toolstation.
  2. Screwfix is the largest on the top line, £2,659m of turnover, 3.6x Toolstation's £745m.
  3. Screwfix is growing fastest, turnover +4.7% on its own prior year.
  4. Screwfix is the biggest employer with 12,877 people; Screwfix pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £28,000.
  5. Screwfix has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £603m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Screwfix keeps the most: £9.20 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Toolstation keeps the least, £4.92.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £13.40 of every £100Payroll£13.40Financing: £0.46 of every £100Other costs: £76.94 of every £100Other costs£76.94Profit: £9.20 of every £100Profit £9.20ScrewfixYear to Jan 2026£2,659m turnoverPayroll: £19.12 of every £100Payroll£19.12Financing: £1.05 of every £100Other costs: £74.91 of every £100Other costs£74.91Profit: £4.92 of every £100Profit £4.92ToolstationYear to Dec 2025£745m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Screwfix (£2,659m), Toolstation (£745m).

By headcount, Screwfix leads with 12,877 employees.

The accounting periods all end within 1 month of each other. All are on the same filing basis.

Screwfix£2,659mToolstation£745m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Screwfix grew fastest, turnover +4.7% on its own prior year, ahead of Toolstation (+3.4%).

Screwfix+4.7%Toolstation+3.4%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Screwfix employs the most, 12,877 people, against 5,274 at Toolstation.

Screwfix has the highest average staff cost, about £28,000 a head; Toolstation the lowest, about £27,000.

Screwfix brings in the most turnover per employee, about £206,000, against £141,000 at Toolstation. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureScrewfixToolstation
Registered nameSCREWFIX DIRECT LIMITEDTOOLSTATION LIMITED
Company number0300637804372131
Incorporated19952002
Accounts filed28 July 202621 June 2026
Turnover, prior year£2,539m£720m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£220m£20m
Staff costs£356m£142m
Payroll share of turnover13.4%19.1%
Employees, prior year12,9925,243
Dividends paid£350m£21m
Charges outstanding02

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Screwfix v Toolstation: common questions

Who is the biggest of Screwfix or Toolstation?

Screwfix, with turnover of £2,659m in the year to January 2026.

Which makes the most profit?

Screwfix: £245m pre-tax in the year to January 2026.

Which employs the most people?

Screwfix, with 12,877 employees in its latest accounts.

Screwfix or Toolstation: which is bigger?

Screwfix, with turnover of £2,659m against £745m at Toolstation on their latest filings. On margin, Screwfix keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.