The Postal Museum: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Postal Heritage Trust has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to March 2025 it reported turnover of £6m.
- Registered name
- POSTAL HERITAGE TRUST
- Company number
- 04896056
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 11 September 2003
- Registered office area
- West-Central London
- Industry code on the register
- 91020: Libraries, archives, museums and other cultural activities
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to March 2025, filed 22 December 2025
What does The Postal Museum do?
The Postal Heritage Trust is the charity that runs The Postal Museum and Mail Rail in London. It cares for the collection and archive of British postal history, covering five centuries of the postal service. The trust earns income from museum and Mail Rail ride tickets, its shop, venue hire and learning programmes, alongside donations and grants. Mail Rail takes visitors through the Post Office's former underground railway beneath the city.
In brief: postal history charity · museum and Mail Rail · tickets, retail and hire
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 27 September 2026. Official website: postalmuseum.org.
Who owns The Postal Museum?
Postal Heritage Trust, company number 04896056, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs The Postal Museum?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Postal Heritage Trust.
All 12 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Lawrence Henry Melinek | 6 December 2017 |
| Laura Anne Wright | 25 June 2018 |
| Susan Jane Wilkinson | 14 December 2023 |
| Mark Rowan Amsden | 27 June 2024 |
| Ailbhe Mary McNabola | 28 January 2025 |
| Rachel Georgina Kuhn | 28 January 2025 |
| Daniel Richard Wolfe | 28 January 2025 |
| Nicola Jane Koppelmann | 28 January 2025 |
| Andrew Adegbemi | 12 June 2025 |
| Courtney Jones | 12 June 2025 |
| Alix Langley | 25 September 2025 |
| Jacqueline Patricia Neville | 25 September 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did The Postal Museum file?
Postal Heritage Trust reported turnover of £6m in the year to March 2025. That was up 25.4% on £5m the year before.
It reported 97 employees. The year before it reported 88.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.3m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £1.2m the year before.
Staff costs came to £3m. That is an average of £32,000 a head. It ended the year with £2m at the bank and net assets of £13m.
| Measure | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £6m | £5m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£0.3m (filed) | -£1.2m (filed) |
| Employees | 97 | 88 |
| Staff costs | £3m | £3m |
| Average staff cost per head | £32,000 | £32,000 |
| Bank and cash | £2m | £1.8m |
| Net assets | £13m | £13m |
| Directors' pay | £1k |
Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against The Postal Museum?
Postal Heritage Trust has registered 4 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 3 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Post Office Limited (As Lender), Royal Mail Group Limited (As Lender), Royal Mail Group Limited (As Security Trustee) | 20 January 2016 |
| The Trustees of the National Heritage Memorial Fund | 16 October 2014 |
| Royal Mail Group Limited (As "Security Trustee") | 5 April 2013 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
The Postal Museum files as Postal Heritage Trust, with turnover of £6m in its latest filed year.
Questions about The Postal Museum
What does The Postal Museum do?
The Postal Heritage Trust is the charity that runs The Postal Museum and Mail Rail in London. It cares for the collection and archive of British postal history, covering five centuries of the postal service. The trust earns income from museum and Mail Rail ride tickets, its shop, venue hire and learning programmes, alongside donations and grants. Mail Rail takes visitors through the Post Office's former underground railway beneath the city.
Who owns The Postal Museum?
Postal Heritage Trust has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.
How much does The Postal Museum make?
Postal Heritage Trust reported turnover of £6m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.3m.
How many people work at The Postal Museum?
Postal Heritage Trust reported 97 employees in the year to March 2025.
Who runs The Postal Museum?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Postal Heritage Trust. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Postal Heritage Trust's filings at Companies House, company number 04896056, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “The Postal Museum: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/postal-museum/. Figures from Companies House filings for POSTAL HERITAGE TRUST (04896056).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the independent museums and galleries: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Bet365: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greene King: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks