Accounts to August 2025 · Group accounts · Filed February 2026

Royal Academy of Arts: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

The Royal Academy of Arts has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to August 2025 it reported turnover of £37m.

£37m
Turnover, down 2.6%
-£4m
Pre-tax profit
274
Employees
Registered name
THE ROYAL ACADEMY OF ARTS
Company number
06298947
Status
Active
Incorporated
2 July 2007
Registered office area
West London
Industry code on the register
91020: Libraries, archives, museums and other cultural activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to August 2025, filed 16 February 2026

What does Royal Academy of Arts do?

The Royal Academy of Arts is an artist-led charity in London that stages art exhibitions and runs an art school. Founded in 1768 and based at Burlington House, it is governed by the Royal Academicians, artists and architects elected by their peers. It holds an open-entry Summer Exhibition every year and runs the RA Schools, a free postgraduate art course. It has no regular public funding and relies on exhibition tickets, Friends membership, sponsorship, donations and its shops.

In brief: artist-led arts charity founded 1768 · exhibitions and Summer Exhibition · RA Schools · tickets and Friends membership

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 27 September 2026. Official website: royalacademy.org.uk.

Who owns Royal Academy of Arts?

The Royal Academy of Arts, company number 06298947, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Royal Academy of Arts?

The Companies House register lists 15 current officers for The Royal Academy of Arts.

All 15 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Rebecca Margaret Salter10 December 2019
Anthony Lewis Cohen1 October 2023
Fiona Jane Banner1 October 2023
Anne Julie Desmet1 October 2024
Ryan James Gander1 October 2024
Vanessa Jackson1 October 2024
Alistair Gerald Summers1 October 2024
Katherine Fiona Jones1 October 2024
Gillian Wearing1 October 2024
Michael Anthony Landy1 October 2025
Wolfgang Tillmans1 October 2025
Maria Lisogorskaya1 October 2025
Clare Elizabeth Woods1 October 2025
Professor Farshid Moussavi1 October 2025
Alice Rebecca Marie Stephanie Black1 October 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Royal Academy of Arts file?

The Royal Academy of Arts reported turnover of £37m in the year to August 2025. That was down 2.6% on £38m the year before.

It reported 274 employees. The year before it reported 301.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £4m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £8m the year before.

Staff costs came to £17m. That is an average of £61,000 a head. It ended the year with £4m at the bank and net assets of £86m.

Aug 2025£44.86£64.83£9.68 loss
Aug 2024£52.71£68.98£21.69 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureAug 2025Aug 2024
Turnover£37m£38m
Pre-tax profit-£4m (filed)-£8m (filed)
Employees274301
Staff costs£17m£20m
Average staff cost per head£61,000£67,000
Bank and cash£4m£5m
Net assets£86m£110m

Read the accounts to August 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Royal Academy of Arts files as The Royal Academy of Arts, with turnover of £37m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Royal Academy of Arts

What does Royal Academy of Arts do?

The Royal Academy of Arts is an artist-led charity in London that stages art exhibitions and runs an art school. Founded in 1768 and based at Burlington House, it is governed by the Royal Academicians, artists and architects elected by their peers. It holds an open-entry Summer Exhibition every year and runs the RA Schools, a free postgraduate art course. It has no regular public funding and relies on exhibition tickets, Friends membership, sponsorship, donations and its shops.

Who owns Royal Academy of Arts?

The Royal Academy of Arts has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Royal Academy of Arts make?

The Royal Academy of Arts reported turnover of £37m in the year to August 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £4m.

How many people work at Royal Academy of Arts?

The Royal Academy of Arts reported 274 employees in the year to August 2025.

Who runs Royal Academy of Arts?

The Companies House register lists 15 current officers for The Royal Academy of Arts. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from The Royal Academy of Arts's filings at Companies House, company number 06298947, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Royal Academy of Arts: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/royal-academy/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE ROYAL ACADEMY OF ARTS (06298947).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings