Accounts to December 2025 · Group accounts · Filed June 2026

Newbury Racecourse: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Newbury Racecourse PLC's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Compton Beauchamp Estates Limited. In the year to December 2025 Newbury Racecourse PLC reported turnover of £23m.

£23m
Turnover, up 6.1%
£1.1m
Pre-tax profit
193
Employees
Registered name
NEWBURY RACECOURSE PLC
Company number
00080774
Status
Active
Incorporated
26 April 1904
Registered office area
Reading
Industry code on the register
93110: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 21 June 2026

What does Newbury Racecourse do?

Newbury Racecourse is a racecourse in Newbury, Berkshire, run by a public limited company whose shares can be bought by the public. It hosts 31 racedays a year across flat and jumps racing, including the Coral Gold Cup and Lockinge Weekend. The site also includes The Lodge, a 36-bedroom hotel, and the Rocking Horse Nursery. Beyond racing it earns money from hospitality, and from conferences, exhibitions, weddings, events and filming across its estate.

In brief: racecourse in Newbury, Berkshire · 31 racedays a year, flat and jumps · on-site hotel and nursery · a plc

Source: Newbury Racecourse's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns Newbury Racecourse?

Newbury Racecourse PLC
Newbury Racecourse · company 00080774
Compton Beauchamp Estates Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Compton Beauchamp Estates Limited as the person with significant control of Newbury Racecourse PLC, company number 00080774. Compton Beauchamp Estates Limited is itself company number 03856029.

That places Newbury Racecourse PLC inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Newbury Racecourse?

The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for Newbury Racecourse PLC.

All 11 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Lady Madeleine Astrid Lloyd Webber23 October 1998
Henry Malcolm Herbert21 January 2000
Dominic James Burke19 November 2010
Matthew Longstreth Thompson1 January 2018
Bryan Robert Hardy Burrough6 December 2018
Mark Leigh14 April 2020
Mark Leigh1 May 2020
Sofia Astrid Kristina Watson9 May 2023
Shaun Charles Hinds3 June 2024
James Owen Willans Richardson6 January 2025
Juliet Mary Slot10 June 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Newbury Racecourse file?

Newbury Racecourse PLC reported turnover of £23m in the year to December 2025. That was up 6.1% on £22m the year before.

It reported 193 employees. The year before it reported 191.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £1.1m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £1.1m the year before.

Staff costs came to £5m. That is an average of £27,000 a head. It ended the year with £9m at the bank and net assets of £48m. It paid dividends of -£0.2m.

Dec 2025£22.09£73.08£4.77 profit
Dec 2024£22.61£72.40£4.99 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£23m£22m
Pre-tax profit£1.1m (filed)£1.1m (filed)
Employees193191
Staff costs£5m£5m
Average staff cost per head£27,000£26,000
Bank and cash£9m£8m
Net assets£48m£47m
Dividends paid-£0.2m
Interest paid£14k
Interest received£0.3m
Directors' pay£0.7m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Newbury Racecourse?

Newbury Racecourse PLC has registered 13 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Newbury Racecourse PLC Pension and Life Assurance Plan18 November 2010

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Newbury Racecourse files as Newbury Racecourse PLC, whose person with significant control is Compton Beauchamp Estates Limited, with turnover of £23m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Newbury Racecourse

What does Newbury Racecourse do?

Newbury Racecourse is a racecourse in Newbury, Berkshire, run by a public limited company whose shares can be bought by the public. It hosts 31 racedays a year across flat and jumps racing, including the Coral Gold Cup and Lockinge Weekend. The site also includes The Lodge, a 36-bedroom hotel, and the Rocking Horse Nursery. Beyond racing it earns money from hospitality, and from conferences, exhibitions, weddings, events and filming across its estate.

Who owns Newbury Racecourse?

The Companies House register records Compton Beauchamp Estates Limited as the person with significant control of Newbury Racecourse PLC.

How much does Newbury Racecourse make?

Newbury Racecourse PLC reported turnover of £23m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £1.1m.

How many people work at Newbury Racecourse?

Newbury Racecourse PLC reported 193 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Newbury Racecourse?

The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for Newbury Racecourse PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Newbury Racecourse PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 00080774, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Newbury Racecourse: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/newbury-racecourse/. Figures from Companies House filings for NEWBURY RACECOURSE PLC (00080774).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings