Accounts to December 2024 · Group accounts · Filed September 2025

McLaren: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

McLaren Racing Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mclaren Group Limited. In the year to December 2024 McLaren Racing Limited reported turnover of £530m.

£530m
Turnover, up 23.0%
£38m
Pre-tax profit
1,283
Employees
Deep dive · What story does the money tell?How does McLaren really make its money? Inside its championship-year accountsRead the full story, line by line from the accounts →
Registered name
MCLAREN RACING LIMITED
Company number
01517478
Status
Active
Incorporated
16 September 1980
Registered office area
Guildford
Industry code on the register
93199: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 30 September 2025

What does McLaren do?

McLaren Racing runs the McLaren Formula 1 team, as well as McLaren's teams in IndyCar, endurance racing and esports. It designs, builds and races its own Formula 1 cars from its base in Woking, Surrey. Its income comes mainly from sponsorship and partnerships, Formula 1 prize money and fan products such as its paid membership club. It is part of the wider McLaren group but separate from McLaren's road car business.

In brief: motor racing team · Formula 1, IndyCar and endurance · sponsorship and prize money · based in Woking

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: mclaren.com.

Who owns McLaren?

McLaren Racing Limited
McLaren · company 01517478
Mclaren Group Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Mclaren Group Limited as the person with significant control of McLaren Racing Limited, company number 01517478. Mclaren Group Limited is itself company number 10720174.

That places McLaren Racing Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs McLaren?

The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for McLaren Racing Limited.

All 12 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Timothy Nicholas Murnane1 September 2004
Zakary Challen Brown25 July 2018
Paul Steven Walsh17 December 2020
Cromwell Lloyd William Griffiths22 December 2020
Omar Ali Syed31 May 2023
Hashem Al Dabbas2 April 2025
Nicholas Paul Collins2 April 2025
Noor Yusuf Sharafi28 October 2025
Eddy Georges Skaf28 October 2025
Samer Salah Abdel Haq28 October 2025
Shaikh Mohamed Isa Mohamed Isa Al Khalifa28 October 2025
Sultan Mansour Akram Ojjeh28 October 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did McLaren file?

McLaren Racing Limited reported turnover of £530m in the year to December 2024. That was up 23.0% on £431m the year before.

It reported 1,283 employees. The year before it reported 1,147.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £38m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £12m the year before.

Staff costs came to £180m. That is an average of £140,000 a head. It ended the year with £237m at the bank and net assets of -£6m.

Dec 2024£33.93£53.38£7.08 profit
Dec 2023£31.30£66.01£2.69 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£530m£431m
Pre-tax profit£38m (filed)£12m (filed)
Employees1,2831,147
Staff costs£180m£135m
Average staff cost per head£140,000£118,000
Bank and cash£237m£139m
Net assets-£6m-£51m
Interest paid£30m
Interest received£10m
Directors' pay£76m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against McLaren?

McLaren Racing Limited has registered 16 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How McLaren compares

McLaren files as McLaren Racing Limited, whose person with significant control is Mclaren Group Limited, with turnover of £530m in its latest filed year.

Questions about McLaren

What does McLaren do?

McLaren Racing runs the McLaren Formula 1 team, as well as McLaren's teams in IndyCar, endurance racing and esports. It designs, builds and races its own Formula 1 cars from its base in Woking, Surrey. Its income comes mainly from sponsorship and partnerships, Formula 1 prize money and fan products such as its paid membership club. It is part of the wider McLaren group but separate from McLaren's road car business.

Who owns McLaren?

The Companies House register records Mclaren Group Limited as the person with significant control of McLaren Racing Limited.

How much does McLaren make?

McLaren Racing Limited reported turnover of £530m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £38m.

How many people work at McLaren?

McLaren Racing Limited reported 1,283 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs McLaren?

The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for McLaren Racing Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from McLaren Racing Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01517478, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “McLaren: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/mclaren/. Figures from Companies House filings for MCLAREN RACING LIMITED (01517478).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings