Accounts to December 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed July 2026

Ascot: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Ascot Racecourse Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Ascot Authority Holdings Limited. In the year to December 2025 Ascot Racecourse Limited reported turnover of £115m.

£115m
Turnover, up 4.8%
£17m
Pre-tax profit
164
Employees
Registered name
ASCOT RACECOURSE LIMITED
Company number
04320977
Status
Active
Incorporated
12 November 2001
Registered office area
Slough
Industry code on the register
93110: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 24 July 2026

What does Ascot do?

Ascot is the racecourse near Windsor founded in 1711 by Queen Anne and home to Royal Ascot. It stages 26 racedays a year on flat and jumps tracks, with flagship fixtures including Royal Ascot, King George Weekend, the Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup and QIPCO British Champions Day. It is overseen by the Ascot Authority, set up by an Act of Parliament, and its trustees. Beyond racedays it earns money from hospitality and private boxes, race sponsorship, and venue hire for conferences, weddings, events and film and TV locations.

In brief: racecourse founded 1711 · home of Royal Ascot · 26 racedays a year, flat and jumps · hospitality and venue hire

Source: Ascot's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns Ascot?

Ascot Racecourse Limited
Ascot · company 04320977
Ascot Authority Holdings Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Ascot Authority Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Ascot Racecourse Limited, company number 04320977. Ascot Authority Holdings Limited is itself company number 04274507.

That places Ascot Racecourse Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Ascot?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Ascot Racecourse Limited.

All 7 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Ian Donald McGregor9 July 2014
Nicholas Kester Smith13 January 2016
Jonathan Robert Parker7 September 2016
Felicity Jane Barnard12 April 2021
Christopher James Collard30 March 2022
Samuel David Thompson1 August 2024
Thomas Robert Paul Johnson1 February 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Ascot file?

Ascot Racecourse Limited reported turnover of £115m in the year to December 2025. That was up 4.8% on £110m the year before.

It reported 164 employees. The year before it reported 162.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £17m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £14m the year before.

Staff costs came to £2m. It ended the year with £48k at the bank and net assets of £4m.

Dec 2025£83.46£14.65£14.65 profit
Dec 2024£76.40£12.71 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£115m£110m
Pre-tax profit£17m (filed)£14m (filed)
Employees164162
Staff costs£2m£12m
Average staff cost per headn/d£74,000
Bank and cash£48k£3k
Net assets£4m-£8m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Ascot?

Ascot Racecourse Limited has registered 4 charges at Companies House, of which 4 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 4 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Barclays Bank PLC as Security Trustee for the Common Secured Parties25 May 2022
Barclays Bank PLC as Security Trustee for the Common Secured Parties15 December 2020
Barclays Bank PLC as Security Trustee for the Secured Parties3 October 2016
Barclays Bank PLC17 February 2005

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Ascot files as Ascot Racecourse Limited, whose person with significant control is Ascot Authority Holdings Limited, with turnover of £115m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Ascot

What does Ascot do?

Ascot is the racecourse near Windsor founded in 1711 by Queen Anne and home to Royal Ascot. It stages 26 racedays a year on flat and jumps tracks, with flagship fixtures including Royal Ascot, King George Weekend, the Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup and QIPCO British Champions Day. It is overseen by the Ascot Authority, set up by an Act of Parliament, and its trustees. Beyond racedays it earns money from hospitality and private boxes, race sponsorship, and venue hire for conferences, weddings, events and film and TV locations.

Who owns Ascot?

The Companies House register records Ascot Authority Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Ascot Racecourse Limited.

How much does Ascot make?

Ascot Racecourse Limited reported turnover of £115m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £17m.

How many people work at Ascot?

Ascot Racecourse Limited reported 164 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Ascot?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Ascot Racecourse Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Ascot Racecourse Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 04320977, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Ascot: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/ascot/. Figures from Companies House filings for ASCOT RACECOURSE LIMITED (04320977).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings