Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed September 2025

Formula One Group: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Formula One World Championship Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Alpha Prema Uk Limited. In the year to December 2024 Formula One World Championship Limited reported turnover of £1,621m.

Formula One Group has filed accounts for the year to 31 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 December 2024. It will update when they are.

£1,621m
Turnover, up 5.0%
£248m
Pre-tax profit
n/d
Employees
Registered name
FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP LIMITED
Company number
04174493
Status
Active
Incorporated
7 March 2001
Registered office area
South West London
Industry code on the register
60200: Programming and broadcasting activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 22 September 2025

What does Formula One Group do?

Formula One Group holds the commercial rights to the FIA Formula One World Championship, the motor racing series contested by teams and drivers at circuits around the world. It earns money from fees paid by race promoters to host grands prix, from selling broadcast and streaming rights, and from sponsorship and hospitality. The business is run from London and is owned by Liberty Media, the US media company.

In brief: motor racing rights holder · race hosting fees · media rights and sponsorship · owned by Liberty Media

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: formula1.com.

Who owns Formula One Group?

Formula One World Championship Limited
Formula One Group · company 04174493
Alpha Prema Uk Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Alpha Prema Uk Limited as the person with significant control of Formula One World Championship Limited, company number 04174493. Alpha Prema Uk Limited is itself company number 05613176.

That places Formula One World Championship Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Formula One Group?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Formula One World Championship Limited.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Duncan Francis Llowarch22 January 2010
Stefano Domenicali8 September 2022
Adam Babiker20 February 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Formula One Group file?

Formula One World Championship Limited reported turnover of £1,621m in the year to December 2024. That was up 5.0% on £1,544m the year before.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £248m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £267m the year before.

It ended the year with £934m at the bank and net assets of £313m.

MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£1,621m£1,544m
Pre-tax profit£248m (filed)£267m (filed)
Bank and cash£934m£718m
Net assets£313m£403m
Interest paid£37k
Interest received£45m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Formula One Group?

Formula One World Championship Limited has registered 7 charges at Companies House, of which 6 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 6 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC as Security Trustee19 August 2014
The Royal Bank of Scorland PLC as Security Trustee5 July 2013
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC as Security Trustee for Itself and the Other Secured Parties (The Security Agent)12 May 2012
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC as Security Trustee for Itself and the Other Secured Parties(The Security Agent)21 July 2007
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC as Security Trustee for Itself and the Other Secured Parties(The Security Agent)24 January 2007
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC, as Security Trustee for Itself and the Other Secured Parties(The Security Agent)8 December 2006

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Formula One Group files as Formula One World Championship Limited, whose person with significant control is Alpha Prema Uk Limited, with turnover of £1,621m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Formula One Group

What does Formula One Group do?

Formula One Group holds the commercial rights to the FIA Formula One World Championship, the motor racing series contested by teams and drivers at circuits around the world. It earns money from fees paid by race promoters to host grands prix, from selling broadcast and streaming rights, and from sponsorship and hospitality. The business is run from London and is owned by Liberty Media, the US media company.

Who owns Formula One Group?

The Companies House register records Alpha Prema Uk Limited as the person with significant control of Formula One World Championship Limited.

How much does Formula One Group make?

Formula One World Championship Limited reported turnover of £1,621m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £248m.

Who runs Formula One Group?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Formula One World Championship Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Formula One World Championship Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 04174493, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Formula One Group: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/formula-one-group/. Figures from Companies House filings for FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP LIMITED (04174493).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings