Mary Rose Museum: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Mary Rose Trust(the) has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to March 2025 it reported turnover of £3m.
- Registered name
- MARY ROSE TRUST(THE)
- Company number
- 01415654
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 19 February 1979
- Registered office area
- Portsmouth
- Industry code on the register
- 85520: Education
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to March 2025, filed 8 December 2025
What does Mary Rose Museum do?
The Mary Rose Trust is the charity that runs the Mary Rose Museum in Portsmouth, home to the hull of Henry VIII's Tudor warship. Set up in 1979, it conserves the ship and the objects recovered with it, and runs education and outreach programmes for schools and the public. The trust earns income from museum tickets, memberships, its shop and corporate sponsorship, alongside donations.
In brief: heritage charity · Tudor warship museum · tickets, retail and donations
Source: Mary Rose Museum's own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.
Who owns Mary Rose Museum?
Mary Rose Trust(the), company number 01415654, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Mary Rose Museum?
The Companies House register lists 15 current officers for Mary Rose Trust(the).
All 15 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Christopher John Brandon | 28 June 2013 |
| Adam Salusbury Humphryes | 28 June 2013 |
| Susan Alison Wright | 28 June 2013 |
| Timothy Mark Rusby | 5 October 2018 |
| Nigel Keith Purse | 2 October 2020 |
| Professor Suzannah Rebecca Gabriella Lipscomb | 4 December 2020 |
| Professor Terence Richard Stevens | 4 November 2022 |
| Rosemary Audrey Sinclair Grey | 16 November 2023 |
| Professor Trevor William Keeble | 16 November 2023 |
| Aileen Marion Peirce | 16 November 2023 |
| Kirsten Victoria Suenson-Taylor | 16 November 2023 |
| Dr Andrew David Painting | 16 November 2023 |
| Dr Nicholas John Merriman | 21 November 2025 |
| Bobby Shailesh Mehta | 21 November 2025 |
| Flora Jane Craig | 21 November 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Mary Rose Museum file?
Mary Rose Trust(the) reported turnover of £3m in the year to March 2025. That was down 11.2% on £4m the year before.
It reported 47 employees. The year before it reported 67.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £1.2m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £0.7m the year before.
Staff costs came to £2m. That is an average of £43,000 a head. It ended the year with £0.6m at the bank and net assets of £25m.
| Measure | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £3m | £4m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£1.2m (filed) | -£0.7m (filed) |
| Employees | 47 | 67 |
| Staff costs | £2m | £1.9m |
| Average staff cost per head | £43,000 | £29,000 |
| Bank and cash | £0.6m | £0.8m |
| Net assets | £25m | £26m |
| Directors' pay | £1k |
Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Mary Rose Museum?
Mary Rose Trust(the) has registered 4 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 3 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| The Trustees of the National Heritage Memorial Fund | 28 January 2010 |
| Lloyds and Scottish Trust LTD | 29 April 1980 |
| Lloyds Bank PLC | 9 April 1980 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Mary Rose Museum files as Mary Rose Trust(the), with turnover of £3m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Mary Rose Museum
What does Mary Rose Museum do?
The Mary Rose Trust is the charity that runs the Mary Rose Museum in Portsmouth, home to the hull of Henry VIII's Tudor warship. Set up in 1979, it conserves the ship and the objects recovered with it, and runs education and outreach programmes for schools and the public. The trust earns income from museum tickets, memberships, its shop and corporate sponsorship, alongside donations.
Who owns Mary Rose Museum?
Mary Rose Trust(the) has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.
How much does Mary Rose Museum make?
Mary Rose Trust(the) reported turnover of £3m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £1.2m.
How many people work at Mary Rose Museum?
Mary Rose Trust(the) reported 47 employees in the year to March 2025.
Who runs Mary Rose Museum?
The Companies House register lists 15 current officers for Mary Rose Trust(the). The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Mary Rose Trust(the)'s filings at Companies House, company number 01415654, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Mary Rose Museum: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/mary-rose/. Figures from Companies House filings for MARY ROSE TRUST(THE) (01415654).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the independent museums and galleries: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Bet365: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greene King: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks