Accounts to March 2025 · Group accounts · Filed January 2026

Horniman Museum: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to March 2025 it reported turnover of £10m.

£10m
Turnover, up 2.8%
£0.9m
Pre-tax profit
115
Employees
Registered name
THE HORNIMAN PUBLIC MUSEUM AND PUBLIC PARK TRUST
Company number
02456393
Status
Active
Incorporated
29 December 1989
Registered office area
South East London
Industry code on the register
91020: Libraries, archives, museums and other cultural activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2025, filed 5 January 2026

What does Horniman Museum do?

The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust is the charity that runs the Horniman Museum and Gardens in Forest Hill, south London. It began as the collection tea merchant Frederick Horniman opened to the public in his home, and holds anthropology, musical instrument and natural history collections alongside an aquarium, a butterfly house and gardens. Entry to the museum is free. Its income includes government funding through DCMS, paid attractions, membership, donations and venue hire.

In brief: museum charity in Forest Hill · anthropology, instruments and natural history · free entry with paid attractions · gardens and venue hire

Source: Horniman Museum's own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.

Who owns Horniman Museum?

The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust, company number 02456393, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Horniman Museum?

The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust.

All 12 current officers
OfficerAppointed
James Simon Hesketh19 October 2017
Mayowa Ochere10 October 2019
Eva Appelbaum14 October 2021
Roma Angela Nelson Dibua14 October 2021
Michael La Roche Salter-Church14 August 2022
Nicholas Wyver8 February 2024
Diana Maine8 February 2024
Yesomi Umolu8 February 2024
Rodney Phillip Taylor6 February 2025
Edmund Philip Neuberger24 April 2025
Patrick Toshio Barker24 April 2025
Naila Yousuf24 April 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Horniman Museum file?

The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust reported turnover of £10m in the year to March 2025. That was up 2.8% on £10m the year before.

It reported 115 employees. The year before it reported 123.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.9m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £1.0m the year before.

Staff costs came to £6m. That is an average of £49,000 a head. It ended the year with £2m at the bank and net assets of £56m.

Mar 2025£53.79£37.74£8.46 profit
Mar 2024£55.90£34.07£10.03 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2025Mar 2024
Turnover£10m£10m
Pre-tax profit£0.9m (filed)£1.0m (filed)
Employees115123
Staff costs£6m£6m
Average staff cost per head£49,000£46,000
Bank and cash£2m£4m
Net assets£56m£54m
Directors' pay£0.6m

Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Horniman Museum files as The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust, with turnover of £10m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Horniman Museum

What does Horniman Museum do?

The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust is the charity that runs the Horniman Museum and Gardens in Forest Hill, south London. It began as the collection tea merchant Frederick Horniman opened to the public in his home, and holds anthropology, musical instrument and natural history collections alongside an aquarium, a butterfly house and gardens. Entry to the museum is free. Its income includes government funding through DCMS, paid attractions, membership, donations and venue hire.

Who owns Horniman Museum?

The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Horniman Museum make?

The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust reported turnover of £10m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.9m.

How many people work at Horniman Museum?

The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust reported 115 employees in the year to March 2025.

Who runs Horniman Museum?

The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from The Horniman Public Museum and Public Park Trust's filings at Companies House, company number 02456393, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Horniman Museum: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/horniman/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE HORNIMAN PUBLIC MUSEUM AND PUBLIC PARK TRUST (02456393).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings