Accounts to February 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed December 2025

Gail's: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Gails Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Bread Limited. In the year to February 2025 Gails Limited reported turnover of £220m.

£220m
Turnover, up 22.8%
£29m
Pre-tax profit
2,816
Employees
Registered name
GAILS LIMITED
Company number
06055393
Status
Active
Incorporated
17 January 2007
Registered office area
North-West London
Industry code on the register
56101: Food and beverage service activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts, audit exempt as a subsidiary
Latest accounts
Year to February 2025, filed 9 December 2025

What does Gail's do?

Gail's is a bakery chain selling fresh bread, pastries, cakes and speciality coffee from its own neighbourhood bakeries. It bakes by hand every day using ingredients it sources from farmers and millers it works with directly. Customers can eat in, take away, or order online for delivery.

In brief: bakery chain · bread, pastries and coffee · own bakeries

Source: Gail's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns Gail's?

Gails Limited
Gail's · company 06055393
Bread Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Bread Limited as the person with significant control of Gails Limited, company number 06055393. Bread Limited is itself company number 06186850.

That places Gails Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Gail's?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Gails Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Thomas Ralph Molnar1 March 2012
Andy Trigwell20 September 2017
Andy Trigwell20 September 2017
Nicholas John Ayerst7 July 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Gail's file?

Gails Limited reported turnover of £220m in the year to February 2025. That was up 22.8% on £179m the year before.

It reported 2,816 employees. The year before it reported 2,454.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £29m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £25m the year before.

Staff costs came to £67m. That is an average of £24,000 a head. It ended the year with £3m at the bank and net assets of £84m.

Feb 2025£30.31£55.61£13.41 profit
Feb 2024£29.51£56.32£14.17£14.17 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureFeb 2025Feb 2024
Turnover£220m£179m
Pre-tax profit£29m (filed)£25m (filed)
Employees2,8162,454
Staff costs£67m£53m
Average staff cost per head£24,000£22,000
Bank and cash£3m£6m
Net assets£84m£57m
Interest paid£1.5m
Interest received£5m
Directors' pay£0.6m

Gail's latest accounts are full accounts, audit exempt as a subsidiary. Its parent company guarantees its debts, so these accounts are not audited.

Read the accounts to February 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Gail's?

Gails Limited has registered 6 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Glas Trust Corporation Limited7 June 2022
Glas Trust Corporation Limited5 November 2021

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Gail's compares

Gail's files as Gails Limited, whose person with significant control is Bread Limited, with turnover of £220m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Gail's

What does Gail's do?

Gail's is a bakery chain selling fresh bread, pastries, cakes and speciality coffee from its own neighbourhood bakeries. It bakes by hand every day using ingredients it sources from farmers and millers it works with directly. Customers can eat in, take away, or order online for delivery.

Who owns Gail's?

The Companies House register records Bread Limited as the person with significant control of Gails Limited.

How much does Gail's make?

Gails Limited reported turnover of £220m in the year to February 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £29m.

How many people work at Gail's?

Gails Limited reported 2,816 employees in the year to February 2025.

Who runs Gail's?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Gails Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Gails Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 06055393, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Gail's: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/gails/. Figures from Companies House filings for GAILS LIMITED (06055393).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings