Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed October 2025

Goodwood Racecourse: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Goodwood Racecourse Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Goodwood Estate Company Limited. It holds 75% or more of the company. In the year to December 2024 Goodwood Racecourse Limited reported turnover of £26m.

£26m
Turnover, up 1.2%
-£4m
Pre-tax profit
63
Employees
Registered name
GOODWOOD RACECOURSE LIMITED
Company number
00772766
Status
Active
Incorporated
2 September 1963
Registered office area
Portsmouth
Industry code on the register
93110: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 3 October 2025

What does Goodwood Racecourse do?

Goodwood Racecourse is a horse racing course on the Goodwood Estate near Chichester, West Sussex, overlooking the South Downs. It stages 19 racedays a season, headed by the five-day Qatar Goodwood Festival in summer, alongside meetings such as the May Festival, Friday evening racing and the Season Finale. Racing has been held there since 1802, and the course is known as Glorious Goodwood. It earns from racing tickets, its Horseracing Club membership, hospitality packages and venue hire for corporate and private events.

In brief: horse racing course · West Sussex · Qatar Goodwood Festival · 19 racedays, membership and hospitality

Source: Goodwood Racecourse's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns Goodwood Racecourse?

Goodwood Racecourse Limited
Goodwood Racecourse · company 00772766
Goodwood Estate Company Limited
Company · holds 75% or more

The Companies House register records Goodwood Estate Company Limited as the person with significant control of Goodwood Racecourse Limited, company number 00772766. Goodwood Estate Company Limited is itself company number 00553452. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights. The control was notified on 6 April 2016.

That places Goodwood Racecourse Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Goodwood Racecourse?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Goodwood Racecourse Limited.

All 5 current officers
OfficerAppointed
His Grace The 11th Duke Of Richmond Charles Henry Gordon Lennox
Countess Of March & Kinrara Janet Elizabeth Duchess Of Richmond And Gordon1 January 1995
Adam James Philip Waterworth1 July 2010
Adrian Paul Sargent1 October 2024
Judith Lorraine Gadsby17 July 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Goodwood Racecourse file?

Goodwood Racecourse Limited reported turnover of £26m in the year to December 2024. That was up 1.2% on £25m the year before.

It reported 63 employees. The year before it reported 68.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £4m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £1.1m the year before.

Staff costs came to £3m. That is an average of £44,000 a head. It ended the year with £8k at the bank and net assets of £18m.

Dec 2024£105.34£16.19 loss
Dec 2023£81.36£4.27 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£26m£25m
Pre-tax profit-£4m (filed)£1.1m (filed)
Employees6368
Staff costs£3m£4m
Average staff cost per head£44,000£53,000
Bank and cash£8k£0k
Net assets£18m£29m
Interest paid£21k
Directors' pay£0.2m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Goodwood Racecourse?

Goodwood Racecourse Limited has registered 10 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
National Westminster Bank PLC13 July 2012

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Goodwood Racecourse files as Goodwood Racecourse Limited, whose person with significant control is Goodwood Estate Company Limited, with turnover of £26m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Goodwood Racecourse

What does Goodwood Racecourse do?

Goodwood Racecourse is a horse racing course on the Goodwood Estate near Chichester, West Sussex, overlooking the South Downs. It stages 19 racedays a season, headed by the five-day Qatar Goodwood Festival in summer, alongside meetings such as the May Festival, Friday evening racing and the Season Finale. Racing has been held there since 1802, and the course is known as Glorious Goodwood. It earns from racing tickets, its Horseracing Club membership, hospitality packages and venue hire for corporate and private events.

Who owns Goodwood Racecourse?

The Companies House register records Goodwood Estate Company Limited as the person with significant control of Goodwood Racecourse Limited. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights.

How much does Goodwood Racecourse make?

Goodwood Racecourse Limited reported turnover of £26m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £4m.

How many people work at Goodwood Racecourse?

Goodwood Racecourse Limited reported 63 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Goodwood Racecourse?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Goodwood Racecourse Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Goodwood Racecourse Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 00772766, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Goodwood Racecourse: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/goodwood-racecourse/. Figures from Companies House filings for GOODWOOD RACECOURSE LIMITED (00772766).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings