Accounts to August 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed June 2026

Flat Iron: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Flat Iron Steak Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Fi Holdings Ltd. In the year to August 2025 Flat Iron Steak Limited reported turnover of £70m.

£70m
Turnover, up 40.4%
£8m
Pre-tax profit
910
Employees
Registered name
FLAT IRON STEAK LIMITED
Company number
08177784
Status
Active
Incorporated
13 August 2012
Registered office area
West London
Industry code on the register
56101: Food and beverage service activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to August 2025, filed 5 June 2026

What does Flat Iron do?

Flat Iron is a chain of steak restaurants that serves a flat iron steak at an affordable set price, alongside other cuts and sides. It started in 2012 in Shoreditch, London. It butchers much of its beef itself, using lesser-known cuts to keep prices down, and it holds a three-star rating from the Sustainable Restaurant Association.

In brief: steak restaurant chain · affordable steak · own butchery · started in London

Source: Flat Iron's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns Flat Iron?

Flat Iron Steak Limited
Flat Iron · company 08177784
Fi Holdings Ltd
Company

The Companies House register records Fi Holdings Ltd as the person with significant control of Flat Iron Steak Limited, company number 08177784. Fi Holdings Ltd is itself company number 10628677.

That places Flat Iron Steak Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Flat Iron?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Flat Iron Steak Limited.

All 2 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Thomas Francis Edmund Byng28 January 2021
Simon Atwell Boston16 May 2023

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Flat Iron file?

Flat Iron Steak Limited reported turnover of £70m in the year to August 2025. That was up 40.4% on £50m the year before.

It reported 910 employees. The year before it reported 722.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £8m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £3m the year before.

Staff costs came to £24m. That is an average of £27,000 a head. It ended the year with £11m at the bank and net assets of £9m.

Aug 2025£34.76£53.81£10.87 profit
Aug 2024£35.67£59.07£5.26 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureAug 2025Aug 2024
Turnover£70m£50m
Pre-tax profit£8m (filed)£3m (filed)
Employees910722
Staff costs£24m£18m
Average staff cost per head£27,000£25,000
Bank and cash£11m£4m
Net assets£9m£3m
Interest paid£0.4m
Interest received£0k
Directors' pay£0.5m

Read the accounts to August 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Flat Iron?

Flat Iron Steak Limited has registered 12 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Oaknorth Bank PLC3 October 2025

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Flat Iron files as Flat Iron Steak Limited, whose person with significant control is Fi Holdings Ltd, with turnover of £70m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Flat Iron

What does Flat Iron do?

Flat Iron is a chain of steak restaurants that serves a flat iron steak at an affordable set price, alongside other cuts and sides. It started in 2012 in Shoreditch, London. It butchers much of its beef itself, using lesser-known cuts to keep prices down, and it holds a three-star rating from the Sustainable Restaurant Association.

Who owns Flat Iron?

The Companies House register records Fi Holdings Ltd as the person with significant control of Flat Iron Steak Limited.

How much does Flat Iron make?

Flat Iron Steak Limited reported turnover of £70m in the year to August 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £8m.

How many people work at Flat Iron?

Flat Iron Steak Limited reported 910 employees in the year to August 2025.

Who runs Flat Iron?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Flat Iron Steak Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Flat Iron Steak Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 08177784, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Flat Iron: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/flat-iron/. Figures from Companies House filings for FLAT IRON STEAK LIMITED (08177784).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings