Accounts to December 2025 · Group accounts · Filed August 2026

Blacklock: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Understudy Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Bgf Investment Management Limited. In the year to December 2025 Understudy Limited reported turnover of £25m.

£25m
Turnover, up 25.7%
£1.1m
Pre-tax profit
298
Employees
Registered name
UNDERSTUDY LIMITED
Company number
08641225
Status
Active
Incorporated
7 August 2013
Registered office area
West London
Industry code on the register
56101: Food and beverage service activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 18 August 2026

What does Blacklock do?

Blacklock is a chophouse restaurant group serving chops and steaks cooked over charcoal, trading through Understudy Limited. Its menus are built around meat on the bone offered at "butcher prices", and it also serves a Sunday roast. The idea comes from the chophouses of the 1690s, which served cuts of meat on the bone for extra flavour. It has restaurants in London, Manchester and Birmingham.

In brief: chophouse restaurants · chops and steaks over charcoal · Sunday roast · London, Manchester, Birmingham

Source: Blacklock's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns Blacklock?

Understudy Limited
Blacklock · company 08641225
Bgf Investment Management Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Bgf Investment Management Limited as the person with significant control of Understudy Limited, company number 08641225. Bgf Investment Management Limited is itself company number 10608481.

That places Understudy Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Blacklock?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Understudy Limited.

All 5 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Gordon James Ker7 August 2013
Paul Adam Campbell4 November 2014
David Patrick Roberts4 November 2014
Alex McLauchlan4 October 2018
Christopher Alan Morgan26 October 2024

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Blacklock file?

Understudy Limited reported turnover of £25m in the year to December 2025. That was up 25.7% on £20m the year before.

It reported 298 employees. The year before it reported 267.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £1.1m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £45k the year before.

Staff costs came to £9m. That is an average of £30,000 a head. It ended the year with £3m at the bank and net assets of £1.8m.

Dec 2025£36.87£57.81£4.66 profit
Dec 2024£40.70£59.07£0.23 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£25m£20m
Pre-tax profit£1.1m (filed)£45k (filed)
Employees298267
Staff costs£9m£8m
Average staff cost per head£30,000£30,000
Bank and cash£3m£3m
Net assets£1.8m£0.8m
Interest paid£0.2m
Interest received£25k
Directors' pay£0.2m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Blacklock?

Understudy Limited has registered 5 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Hsbc UK Bank PLC27 September 2022

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Blacklock files as Understudy Limited, whose person with significant control is Bgf Investment Management Limited, with turnover of £25m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Blacklock

What does Blacklock do?

Blacklock is a chophouse restaurant group serving chops and steaks cooked over charcoal, trading through Understudy Limited. Its menus are built around meat on the bone offered at "butcher prices", and it also serves a Sunday roast. The idea comes from the chophouses of the 1690s, which served cuts of meat on the bone for extra flavour. It has restaurants in London, Manchester and Birmingham.

Who owns Blacklock?

The Companies House register records Bgf Investment Management Limited as the person with significant control of Understudy Limited.

How much does Blacklock make?

Understudy Limited reported turnover of £25m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £1.1m.

How many people work at Blacklock?

Understudy Limited reported 298 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Blacklock?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Understudy Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Understudy Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 08641225, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Blacklock: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/blacklock/. Figures from Companies House filings for UNDERSTUDY LIMITED (08641225).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings