Dulwich Picture Gallery: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Dulwich Picture Gallery has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to March 2025 it reported turnover of £5m.
- Registered name
- DULWICH PICTURE GALLERY
- Company number
- 10445344
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 25 October 2016
- Registered office area
- South East London
- Industry code on the register
- 90040: Creative, arts and entertainment activities
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to March 2025, filed 17 December 2025
What does Dulwich Picture Gallery do?
Dulwich Picture Gallery is the independent charity that runs the public art gallery of the same name in Dulwich, south London. Founded in 1811 and housed in a building designed by Sir John Soane, it holds a collection of Old Master paintings. It earns income from exhibition tickets, memberships, its café and shop, venue hire and learning programmes, supported by donations and grants.
In brief: art gallery charity · Old Master paintings · exhibitions, membership and hire
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 27 September 2026. Official website: dulwichpicturegallery.org.uk.
Who owns Dulwich Picture Gallery?
Dulwich Picture Gallery, company number 10445344, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Dulwich Picture Gallery?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Dulwich Picture Gallery.
All 12 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Janet Mary Vitmayer | 9 July 2018 |
| Sian Elizabeth Williams | 9 July 2018 |
| Benedict Marius Brogan | 9 July 2018 |
| Chantelle Culshaw | 30 October 2020 |
| Katy Anusha Wickremesinghe | 8 December 2020 |
| Helen Macintyre | 8 December 2020 |
| Jane Teresa Lunnon | 29 November 2023 |
| Jonathan Martin Card | 29 November 2023 |
| Cecil Quillen | 18 March 2024 |
| John Selwyn Cox | 2 July 2025 |
| Adeola Gay | 2 July 2025 |
| Victoria Pinnington | 2 July 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Dulwich Picture Gallery file?
Dulwich Picture Gallery reported turnover of £5m in the year to March 2025. That was down 0.4% on £5m the year before.
It reported 59 employees. The year before it reported 54.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.9m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £2m the year before.
Staff costs came to £2m. That is an average of £38,000 a head. It ended the year with £0.5m at the bank and net assets of £33m.
| Measure | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £5m | £5m |
| Pre-tax profit | £0.9m (filed) | £2m (filed) |
| Employees | 59 | 54 |
| Staff costs | £2m | £2m |
| Average staff cost per head | £38,000 | £39,000 |
| Bank and cash | £0.5m | £0.6m |
| Net assets | £33m | £32m |
Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Dulwich Picture Gallery files as Dulwich Picture Gallery, with turnover of £5m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Dulwich Picture Gallery
What does Dulwich Picture Gallery do?
Dulwich Picture Gallery is the independent charity that runs the public art gallery of the same name in Dulwich, south London. Founded in 1811 and housed in a building designed by Sir John Soane, it holds a collection of Old Master paintings. It earns income from exhibition tickets, memberships, its café and shop, venue hire and learning programmes, supported by donations and grants.
Who owns Dulwich Picture Gallery?
Dulwich Picture Gallery has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.
How much does Dulwich Picture Gallery make?
Dulwich Picture Gallery reported turnover of £5m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.9m.
How many people work at Dulwich Picture Gallery?
Dulwich Picture Gallery reported 59 employees in the year to March 2025.
Who runs Dulwich Picture Gallery?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Dulwich Picture Gallery. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Dulwich Picture Gallery's filings at Companies House, company number 10445344, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Dulwich Picture Gallery: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/dulwich-picture-gallery/. Figures from Companies House filings for DULWICH PICTURE GALLERY (10445344).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the independent museums and galleries: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Bet365: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greene King: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks