Accounts to March 2025 · Group accounts · Filed October 2025

Design Museum: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

The Design Museum has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to March 2025 it reported turnover of £17m.

£17m
Turnover, up 38.0%
£2m
Pre-tax profit
127
Employees
Registered name
THE DESIGN MUSEUM
Company number
02325092
Status
Active
Incorporated
5 December 1988
Registered office area
West London
Industry code on the register
91030: Libraries, archives, museums and other cultural activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2025, filed 27 October 2025

What does Design Museum do?

The Design Museum is a charity in Kensington, London, that stages exhibitions on product, fashion, graphic and architectural design. Founded in 1989 by Sir Terence Conran, it began at Shad Thames and moved to its present building in 2016. Alongside exhibitions it holds a design collection and runs learning programmes for schools, families and postgraduate students. It earns money from exhibition tickets, membership, sponsorship, donations from patrons and trusts, its shop and venue hire.

In brief: design museum charity · founded 1989 by Terence Conran · exhibitions and learning · tickets, membership and venue hire

Source: Design Museum's own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.

Who owns Design Museum?

The Design Museum, company number 02325092, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Design Museum?

The Companies House register lists 13 current officers for The Design Museum.

All 13 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Prof Sebastian Orby Conran19 November 2008
Davina Anne Lore Von Mallinckrodt14 June 2017
Michelle Ogundehin26 April 2021
Dominic James Field13 October 2021
Susan Arleen Boster16 March 2022
Dahlia Dana9 May 2022
Eva Magdalena Jiricna10 May 2022
Suhair Fariha Khan19 October 2022
Stuart Roden5 June 2023
Jenna Caroline Littler5 October 2023
Jonathan David Zenios13 December 2023
Tomoko Azumi18 June 2024
Richard Dollimore9 December 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Design Museum file?

The Design Museum reported turnover of £17m in the year to March 2025. That was up 38.0% on £12m the year before.

It reported 127 employees. The year before it reported 129.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £2m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £1.5m the year before.

Staff costs came to £6m. That is an average of £45,000 a head. It ended the year with £4m at the bank and net assets of £31m.

Mar 2025£33.58£52.93£13.49 profit
Mar 2024£41.51£70.43£11.93 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2025Mar 2024
Turnover£17m£12m
Pre-tax profit£2m (filed)-£1.5m (filed)
Employees127129
Staff costs£6m£5m
Average staff cost per head£45,000£40,000
Bank and cash£4m£3m
Net assets£31m£29m

Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Design Museum?

The Design Museum has registered 2 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Design Museum files as The Design Museum, with turnover of £17m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Design Museum

What does Design Museum do?

The Design Museum is a charity in Kensington, London, that stages exhibitions on product, fashion, graphic and architectural design. Founded in 1989 by Sir Terence Conran, it began at Shad Thames and moved to its present building in 2016. Alongside exhibitions it holds a design collection and runs learning programmes for schools, families and postgraduate students. It earns money from exhibition tickets, membership, sponsorship, donations from patrons and trusts, its shop and venue hire.

Who owns Design Museum?

The Design Museum has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Design Museum make?

The Design Museum reported turnover of £17m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £2m.

How many people work at Design Museum?

The Design Museum reported 127 employees in the year to March 2025.

Who runs Design Museum?

The Companies House register lists 13 current officers for The Design Museum. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from The Design Museum's filings at Companies House, company number 02325092, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Design Museum: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/design-museum/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE DESIGN MUSEUM (02325092).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings