Accounts to May 2025 · Group accounts · Filed February 2026

Caffè Nero: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Rome Pik Holdco Ltd. It holds 75% or more of the company. In the year to May 2025 Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd reported turnover of £588m.

£588m
Turnover, up 13.0%
-£41m
Pre-tax profit
9,870
Employees
Registered name
CAFFE NERO GROUP HOLDINGS LTD
Company number
05936386
Status
Active
Incorporated
15 September 2006
Registered office area
West-Central London
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to May 2025, filed 11 February 2026

What does Caffè Nero do?

Caffè Nero is a chain of coffee shops serving Italian-style espresso drinks, cakes, pastries and sandwiches. It roasts and blends its own coffee and sets out its shops as places to sit and stay rather than only takeaway stops. Customers can buy in store, order ahead for collection through its app, which also holds its loyalty card, or order through delivery services. It also sells coffee for use at home.

In brief: coffee shop chain · Italian-style espresso · own coffee blend · app and loyalty card

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: caffenero.com.

Who owns Caffè Nero?

Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd
Caffè Nero · company 05936386
Rome Pik Holdco Ltd
Company · holds 75% or more

The Companies House register records Rome Pik Holdco Ltd as the person with significant control of Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd, company number 05936386. Rome Pik Holdco Ltd is itself company number 05936498. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights. The control was notified on 15 September 2016.

That places Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Caffè Nero?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Dr Gerald William Ford28 November 2006
Benedict James Price28 November 2006
Benedict James Price5 February 2007
Mr. Morten Schott Knudsen14 August 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Caffè Nero file?

Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd reported turnover of £588m in the year to May 2025. That was up 13.0% on £520m the year before.

It reported 9,870 employees. The year before it reported 6,965.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £41m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £34m the year before.

Staff costs came to £191m. That is an average of £19,000 a head. It ended the year with £15m at the bank and net assets of -£259m.

May 2025£32.56£61.21£7.03 loss
May 2024£25.68£80.94£6.62 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMay 2025May 2024
Turnover£588m£520m
Pre-tax profit-£41m (filed)-£34m (filed)
Employees9,8706,965
Staff costs£191m£134m
Average staff cost per head£19,000£19,000
Bank and cash£15m£11m
Net assets-£259m-£209m
Interest paid£78m
Interest received£4m
Directors' pay£0.9m

Read the accounts to May 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Caffè Nero?

Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd has registered 6 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Glas Trust Corporation Limited as Security Agent for the Secured Parties19 January 2022

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Caffè Nero compares

Caffè Nero files as Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd, whose person with significant control is Rome Pik Holdco Ltd, with turnover of £588m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Caffè Nero

What does Caffè Nero do?

Caffè Nero is a chain of coffee shops serving Italian-style espresso drinks, cakes, pastries and sandwiches. It roasts and blends its own coffee and sets out its shops as places to sit and stay rather than only takeaway stops. Customers can buy in store, order ahead for collection through its app, which also holds its loyalty card, or order through delivery services. It also sells coffee for use at home.

Who owns Caffè Nero?

The Companies House register records Rome Pik Holdco Ltd as the person with significant control of Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights.

How much does Caffè Nero make?

Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd reported turnover of £588m in the year to May 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £41m.

How many people work at Caffè Nero?

Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd reported 9,870 employees in the year to May 2025.

Who runs Caffè Nero?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Caffe Nero Group Holdings Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 05936386, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Caffè Nero: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/caffe-nero/. Figures from Companies House filings for CAFFE NERO GROUP HOLDINGS LTD (05936386).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings