Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed February 2026

Cineworld: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Cineworld Cinemas Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Cineworld Cinemas Holdings Limited. In the year to December 2024 Cineworld Cinemas Limited reported turnover of £110m.

£110m
Turnover, down 1.7%
£23m
Pre-tax profit
1,584
Employees
Registered name
CINEWORLD CINEMAS LIMITED
Company number
01915767
Status
Active
Incorporated
22 May 1985
Registered office area
Twickenham
Industry code on the register
59131: Motion picture, video and television programme production, sound recording and music publishing
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 24 February 2026

What does Cineworld do?

Cineworld runs cinemas across the UK and Ireland under the Cineworld and Picturehouse names, showing new films in standard and premium formats such as IMAX, 4DX and ScreenX. It makes money from ticket sales, food and drink, screen advertising and its Unlimited monthly membership, which gives members as many films as they like. Its Picturehouse venues focus on independent and art-house films.

In brief: cinema chain · tickets, food and drink · Unlimited membership · Cineworld and Picturehouse

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: cineworld.co.uk.

Who owns Cineworld?

Cineworld Cinemas Limited
Cineworld · company 01915767
Cineworld Cinemas Holdings Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Cineworld Cinemas Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Cineworld Cinemas Limited, company number 01915767. Cineworld Cinemas Holdings Limited is itself company number 02010626.

That places Cineworld Cinemas Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Cineworld?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Cineworld Cinemas Limited.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
John Martin Henrich28 June 2024
James Gregory Horton10 October 2025
Richard Bell17 September 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Cineworld file?

Cineworld Cinemas Limited reported turnover of £110m in the year to December 2024. That was down 1.7% on £112m the year before.

It reported 1,584 employees. The year before it reported 1,702.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £23m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £693m the year before.

Staff costs came to £40m. That is an average of £25,000 a head. It ended the year with £34m at the bank and net assets of -£16m.

Dec 2024£36.27£20.93 profit
Dec 2023£33.88£684.99£618.88 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket; where it ends in an arrow the costs run past £200. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£110m£112m
Pre-tax profit£23m (filed)-£693m (filed)
Employees1,5841,702
Staff costs£40m£38m
Average staff cost per head£25,000£22,000
Bank and cash£34m£5m
Net assets-£16m-£168m
Interest paid£19m
Interest received£1.7m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Cineworld?

Cineworld Cinemas Limited has registered 29 charges at Companies House, of which 4 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 4 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Barclays Bank PLC in Its Capacity as Administrative Agent13 December 2024
Barclays Bank PLC in Its Capacity as Administrative Agent13 December 2024
Barclays Bank PLC, as Administrative Agent11 December 2024
Barclays Bank PLC5 May 2021

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Cineworld compares

Cineworld files as Cineworld Cinemas Limited, whose person with significant control is Cineworld Cinemas Holdings Limited, with turnover of £110m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Cineworld

What does Cineworld do?

Cineworld runs cinemas across the UK and Ireland under the Cineworld and Picturehouse names, showing new films in standard and premium formats such as IMAX, 4DX and ScreenX. It makes money from ticket sales, food and drink, screen advertising and its Unlimited monthly membership, which gives members as many films as they like. Its Picturehouse venues focus on independent and art-house films.

Who owns Cineworld?

The Companies House register records Cineworld Cinemas Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Cineworld Cinemas Limited.

How much does Cineworld make?

Cineworld Cinemas Limited reported turnover of £110m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £23m.

How many people work at Cineworld?

Cineworld Cinemas Limited reported 1,584 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Cineworld?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Cineworld Cinemas Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Cineworld Cinemas Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01915767, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Cineworld: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/cineworld/. Figures from Companies House filings for CINEWORLD CINEMAS LIMITED (01915767).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings