VS Series

Cineworld v Odeon

Big screens, bigger bills: the cinema chains compared

Odeon leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Odeon is the biggest by turnover at £211m, against £110m at Cineworld. Cineworld keeps more of every £100 it takes, £20.93 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like.

Accounts compared: Cineworld to Dec 2024 · Odeon to Dec 2024

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 OdeonOdeon Cinemas Limited £211m +0.4% -£48m -22.6% 2,783 £21,000 £76,000 -£16m £32m Dec 2024 n/d
2 CineworldCineworld Cinemas Limited £110m -1.7% £23m 20.9% 1,584 £25,000 £70,000 -£16m £34m Dec 2024 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Cineworld converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £20.93 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £22.60 at Odeon.
  2. Odeon is the largest on the top line, £211m of turnover, 1.9x Cineworld's £110m.
  3. Odeon is growing fastest, turnover +0.4% on its own prior year. Cineworld went backwards.
  4. Odeon is the biggest employer with 2,783 people; Cineworld pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £25,000.
  5. Odeon has the largest balance sheet, net assets of -£16m, while Cineworld holds the most cash at £34m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Cineworld keeps the most: £20.93 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Odeon does worst, losing £22.60.

Financing bites hardest at Cineworld: £16.96 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £36.27 of every £100Payroll£36.27Financing: £16.96 of every £100Financing£16.96Other costs: £25.84 of every £100Other costs£25.84Profit: £20.93 of every £100Profit £20.93CineworldYear to Dec 2024£110m turnoverPayroll: £27.45 of every £100Payroll£27.45Financing: £9.06 of every £100£9.06Other costs: £86.08 of every £100Other costs£86.08Loss (the costs beyond £100): £22.60 of every £100Loss £22.60OdeonYear to Dec 2024£211m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Odeon (£211m), Cineworld (£110m).

By headcount, Odeon leads with 2,783 employees.

The accounting periods all end in the same month. All are on the same filing basis.

Odeon£211mCineworld£110m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Odeon grew fastest, turnover +0.4% on its own prior year, ahead of Cineworld (-1.7%).

Odeon+0.4%Cineworld-1.7%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Odeon employs the most, 2,783 people, against 1,584 at Cineworld.

Cineworld has the highest average staff cost, about £25,000 a head; Odeon the lowest, about £21,000.

Odeon brings in the most turnover per employee, about £76,000, against £70,000 at Cineworld. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureCineworldOdeon
Registered nameCINEWORLD CINEMAS LIMITEDODEON CINEMAS LIMITED
Company number0191576701854132
Incorporated19851984
Accounts filed24 February 202619 September 2025
Turnover, prior year£112m£210m
Pre-tax profit, prior year-£693m-£59m
Staff costs£40m£58m
Payroll share of turnover36.3%27.5%
Employees, prior year1,7022,827
Dividends paidn/dn/d
Charges outstanding42

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Cineworld v Odeon: common questions

Who is the biggest of Cineworld or Odeon?

Odeon, with turnover of £211m in the year to December 2024.

Which makes the most profit?

Cineworld: £23m pre-tax in the year to December 2024.

Which employs the most people?

Odeon, with 2,783 employees in its latest accounts.

Cineworld or Odeon: which is bigger?

Odeon, with turnover of £211m against £110m at Cineworld on their latest filings. On margin, Cineworld keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.