VS Series

B&Q v The Range and Homebase

The DIY shed against the everything store

B&Q leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. B&Q is the biggest by turnover at £3,686m, against £1,472m at The Range and Homebase. B&Q keeps more of every £100 it takes, £7.03 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like. The Range and Homebase files group accounts that include subsidiaries; B&Q files for a single company, which flatters the group on size.

Accounts compared: B&Q to Jan 2025 · The Range and Homebase to Feb 2025

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 B&QB&Q Limited £3,686m -0.8% £259m 7.0% 20,019 £26,000 £184,000 £2,481m £27m Jan 2025 Single company
2 The Range and HomebaseCDS (Superstores International) Limited £1,472m +13.5% £0.5m 0.0% 12,639 £17,000 £116,000 £313m £41m Feb 2025 Group

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. B&Q converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £7.03 reaches pre-tax profit, against £0.04 at The Range and Homebase.
  2. B&Q is the largest on the top line, £3,686m of turnover, 2.5x The Range and Homebase's £1,472m.
  3. The Range and Homebase is growing fastest, turnover +13.5% on its own prior year. B&Q went backwards.
  4. B&Q is the biggest employer with 20,019 people; B&Q pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £26,000.
  5. B&Q has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £2,481m, while The Range and Homebase holds the most cash at £41m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

B&Q keeps the most: £7.03 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. The Range and Homebase keeps the least, £0.04.

Financing bites hardest at The Range and Homebase: £3.56 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £13.87 of every £100Payroll£13.87Other costs: £79.10 of every £100Other costs£79.10Profit: £7.03 of every £100Profit £7.03B&QYear to Jan 2025£3,686m turnoverPayroll: £14.79 of every £100Payroll£14.79Financing: £3.56 of every £100Other costs: £81.61 of every £100Other costs£81.61Profit: £0.04 of every £100Profit £0.04The Range and HomebaseYear to Feb 2025£1,472m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is B&Q (£3,686m), The Range and Homebase (£1,472m).

By headcount, B&Q leads with 20,019 employees.

The accounting periods all end in the same month. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

B&Q£3,686mThe Range and Homebase£1,472m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

The Range and Homebase grew fastest, turnover +13.5% on its own prior year, ahead of B&Q (-0.8%).

The Range and Homebase+13.5%B&Q-0.8%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

B&Q employs the most, 20,019 people, against 12,639 at The Range and Homebase.

B&Q has the highest average staff cost, about £26,000 a head; The Range and Homebase the lowest, about £17,000.

B&Q brings in the most turnover per employee, about £184,000, against £116,000 at The Range and Homebase. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureB&QThe Range and Homebase
Registered nameB&Q LIMITEDCDS (SUPERSTORES INTERNATIONAL) LIMITED
Company number0097338702699203
Incorporated19701992
Accounts filed30 September 20258 October 2025
Turnover, prior year£3,716m£1,297m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£169m-£23m
Staff costs£511m£218m
Payroll share of turnover13.9%14.8%
Employees, prior year21,47812,238
Dividends paidn/dn/d
Charges outstanding70

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

B&Q v The Range and Homebase: common questions

Who is the biggest of B&Q or The Range and Homebase?

B&Q, with turnover of £3,686m in the year to January 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

B&Q: £259m pre-tax in the year to January 2025.

Which employs the most people?

B&Q, with 20,019 employees in its latest accounts.

B&Q or The Range and Homebase: which is bigger?

B&Q, with turnover of £3,686m against £1,472m at The Range and Homebase on their latest filings. On margin, B&Q keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.