Accounts to March 2026 · Single company accounts · Filed August 2026

B&M: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

B & M Retail Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is E V Retail Limited. In the year to March 2026 B & M Retail Limited reported turnover of £4,624m.

£4,624m
Turnover, up 3.0%
£277m
Pre-tax profit
34,306
Employees
Registered name
B & M RETAIL LIMITED
Company number
01357507
Status
Active
Incorporated
14 March 1978
Registered office area
Chester
Industry code on the register
47190: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 7 August 2026

What does B&M do?

B&M is a discount variety retailer selling groceries, household goods, homewares, garden products and toys at low prices. It sells mainly through its own large out-of-town and retail park stores in the UK, trading as B&M Bargains, and also runs B&M stores in France and the Heron Foods frozen food chain. It keeps prices down by buying in bulk and carrying a changing range of branded and own-label goods. Its parent company is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: discount variety retailer · groceries and homewares · own stores in UK and France · listed parent

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: bandmretail.com.

Who owns B&M?

B & M Retail Limited
B&M · company 01357507
E V Retail Limited
Company

The Companies House register records E V Retail Limited as the person with significant control of B & M Retail Limited, company number 01357507. E V Retail Limited is itself company number 03244928.

That places B & M Retail Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs B&M?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for B & M Retail Limited.

All 6 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Alexander Daniel Keeler Simpson23 August 2023
Jonathan David Parry27 February 2024
Gerardus Matheus Thomas Jegen16 June 2025
Simon Anthony Hathway12 January 2026
Alexander Daniel Keeler Simpson27 March 2026
Dr Peter John Waterhouse10 April 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did B&M file?

B & M Retail Limited reported turnover of £4,624m in the year to March 2026. That was up 3.0% on £4,489m the year before.

It reported 34,306 employees. The year before it reported 33,764.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £277m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £448m the year before.

Staff costs came to £696m. That is an average of £20,000 a head. It ended the year with £269m at the bank and net assets of £789m. It paid dividends of £75m.

Mar 2026£15.05£77.75£5.99 profit
Mar 2025£14.32£75.70£9.98 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£4,624m£4,489m
Pre-tax profit£277m (filed)£448m (filed)
Employees34,30633,764
Staff costs£696m£643m
Average staff cost per head£20,000£19,000
Bank and cash£269m£164m
Net assets£789m£631m
Dividends paid£75m£340m
Interest paid£56m
Interest received£6m
Directors' pay£6m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against B&M?

B & M Retail Limited has registered 26 charges at Companies House, of which 5 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 5 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch as Security Agent29 November 2024
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch as Security Agent27 November 2023
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch12 April 2023
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch (As Security Agent)29 November 2021
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch (As Security Agent)15 July 2020

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How B&M compares

B&M files as B & M Retail Limited, whose person with significant control is E V Retail Limited, with turnover of £4,624m in its latest filed year.

Questions about B&M

What does B&M do?

B&M is a discount variety retailer selling groceries, household goods, homewares, garden products and toys at low prices. It sells mainly through its own large out-of-town and retail park stores in the UK, trading as B&M Bargains, and also runs B&M stores in France and the Heron Foods frozen food chain. It keeps prices down by buying in bulk and carrying a changing range of branded and own-label goods. Its parent company is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns B&M?

The Companies House register records E V Retail Limited as the person with significant control of B & M Retail Limited.

How much does B&M make?

B & M Retail Limited reported turnover of £4,624m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £277m.

How many people work at B&M?

B & M Retail Limited reported 34,306 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs B&M?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for B & M Retail Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from B & M Retail Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01357507, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “B&M: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/b-and-m/. Figures from Companies House filings for B & M RETAIL LIMITED (01357507).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings