VS Series

Home Bargains v B&M

The bargain hunters' favourites, and which one makes the bargains pay

Home Bargains leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. B&M is the biggest by turnover at £4,624m, against £4,545m at Home Bargains. Home Bargains keeps more of every £100 it takes, £11.51 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are up to 9 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. Home Bargains files group accounts that include subsidiaries; B&M files for a single company, which flatters the group on size.

Accounts compared: Home Bargains to Jun 2025 · B&M to Mar 2026

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 B&MB & M Retail Limited £4,624m +3.0% £277m 6.0% 34,306 £20,000 £135,000 £789m £269m Mar 2026 Single company
2 Home BargainsT J Morris Group Limited £4,545m +7.9% £523m 11.5% 29,232 £22,000 £155,000 £2,647m £350m Jun 2025 Group

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Home Bargains converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £11.51 reaches pre-tax profit, against £5.99 at B&M.
  2. B&M is the largest on the top line, £4,624m of turnover, 1.0x Home Bargains's £4,545m.
  3. Home Bargains is growing fastest, turnover +7.9% on its own prior year.
  4. B&M is the biggest employer with 34,306 people; Home Bargains pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £22,000.
  5. Home Bargains has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £2,647m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Home Bargains keeps the most: £11.51 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. B&M keeps the least, £5.99.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £14.23 of every £100Payroll£14.23Financing: £0.05 of every £100Other costs: £74.21 of every £100Other costs£74.21Profit: £11.51 of every £100Profit £11.51Home BargainsYear to Jun 2025£4,545m turnoverPayroll: £15.05 of every £100Payroll£15.05Financing: £1.21 of every £100Other costs: £77.75 of every £100Other costs£77.75Profit: £5.99 of every £100Profit £5.99B&MYear to Mar 2026£4,624m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is B&M (£4,624m), Home Bargains (£4,545m).

By headcount, B&M leads with 34,306 employees.

The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Home Bargains to Jun 2025, B&M to Mar 2026. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

B&M£4,624mHome Bargains£4,545m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Home Bargains grew fastest, turnover +7.9% on its own prior year, ahead of B&M (+3.0%).

Home Bargains+7.9%B&M+3.0%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

B&M employs the most, 34,306 people, against 29,232 at Home Bargains.

Home Bargains has the highest average staff cost, about £22,000 a head; B&M the lowest, about £20,000.

Home Bargains brings in the most turnover per employee, about £155,000, against £135,000 at B&M. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureHome BargainsB&M
Registered nameT J MORRIS GROUP LIMITEDB & M RETAIL LIMITED
Company number1427677601357507
Incorporated20221978
Accounts filed31 December 20257 August 2026
Turnover, prior year£4,214m£4,489m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£454m£448m
Staff costs£647m£696m
Payroll share of turnover14.2%15.1%
Employees, prior year28,11333,764
Dividends paid£66m£75m
Charges outstanding05

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Home Bargains v B&M: common questions

Who is the biggest of Home Bargains or B&M?

B&M, with turnover of £4,624m in the year to March 2026.

Which makes the most profit?

Home Bargains: £523m pre-tax in the year to June 2025.

Which employs the most people?

B&M, with 34,306 employees in its latest accounts.

Home Bargains or B&M: which is bigger?

B&M, with turnover of £4,624m against £4,545m at Home Bargains on their latest filings. On margin, Home Bargains keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.