VS Series

B&M v Poundland

Two discount variety chains selling the same kind of bargains. Which one turns them into profit?

B&M leads on all five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. B&M is the biggest by turnover at £4,624m, against £1,549m at Poundland. B&M keeps more of every £100 it takes, £5.99 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are up to 6 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months.

Accounts compared: B&M to Mar 2026 · Poundland to Sep 2025

The Numbers

MeasureB&MB & M Retail LimitedPoundlandPoundland Limited
Turnover£4,624m£1,549m
Turnover change+3.0%-11.8%
Pre-tax profit£277m-£85m
Profit margin6.0%-5.5%
Employees34,30614,417
Pay per head£20,000£21,000
Turnover per head£135,000£107,000
Net assets£789m-£90m
Bank and cash£269m£31m
Accounts toMar 2026Sep 2025
BasisSingle companySingle company

The leader on each measure is marked. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. B&M converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £5.99 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £5.50 at Poundland.
  2. B&M is the largest on the top line, £4,624m of turnover, 3.0x Poundland's £1,549m.
  3. B&M is growing fastest, turnover +3.0% on its own prior year. Poundland went backwards.
  4. B&M is the biggest employer with 34,306 people; Poundland pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £21,000.
  5. B&M has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £789m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

B&M keeps the most: £5.99 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Poundland does worst, losing £5.50.

Financing bites hardest at Poundland: £2.24 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £15.05 of every £100Payroll£15.05Financing: £1.21 of every £100Other costs: £77.75 of every £100Other costs£77.75Profit: £5.99 of every £100Profit £5.99B&MYear to Mar 2026£4,624m turnoverPayroll: £19.91 of every £100Payroll£19.91Financing: £2.24 of every £100Other costs: £83.35 of every £100Other costs£83.35Loss (the costs beyond £100): £5.50 of every £100Loss £5.50PoundlandYear to Sep 2025£1,549m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is B&M (£4,624m), Poundland (£1,549m).

By headcount, B&M leads with 34,306 employees.

The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: B&M to Mar 2026, Poundland to Sep 2025. All are on the same filing basis.

B&M£4,624mPoundland£1,549m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

B&M grew fastest, turnover +3.0% on its own prior year, ahead of Poundland (-11.8%).

B&M+3.0%Poundland-11.8%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

B&M employs the most, 34,306 people, against 14,417 at Poundland.

Poundland has the highest average staff cost, about £21,000 a head; B&M the lowest, about £20,000.

B&M brings in the most turnover per employee, about £135,000, against £107,000 at Poundland. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureB&MPoundland
Registered nameB & M RETAIL LIMITEDPOUNDLAND LIMITED
Company number0135750702495645
Incorporated19781990
Accounts filed7 August 202620 August 2026
Turnover, prior year£4,489m£1,757m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£448m-£45m
Staff costs£696m£308m
Payroll share of turnover15.1%19.9%
Employees, prior year33,76416,214
Dividends paid£75mn/d
Charges outstanding59

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

B&M v Poundland: common questions

Who is the biggest of B&M or Poundland?

B&M, with turnover of £4,624m in the year to March 2026.

Which makes the most profit?

B&M: £277m pre-tax in the year to March 2026.

Which employs the most people?

B&M, with 34,306 employees in its latest accounts.

B&M or Poundland: which is bigger?

B&M, with turnover of £4,624m against £1,549m at Poundland on their latest filings. On margin, B&M keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.