Ayr Racecourse: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
The Western Meeting Club Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Western Meeting Club 2003. In the year to December 2024 The Western Meeting Club Limited reported turnover of £9m.
Ayr Racecourse has filed accounts for the year to 31 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 December 2024. It will update when they are.
- Registered name
- THE WESTERN MEETING CLUB LIMITED
- Company number
- SC234779
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 31 July 2002
- Registered office area
- Kilmarnock
- Industry code on the register
- 93199: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2024, filed 25 September 2025
What does Ayr Racecourse do?
Ayr Racecourse is a racecourse in Ayr, Scotland, home to the Scottish Grand National and the Ayr Gold Cup. Racing in Ayr dates back to 1576, the course moved to its present site in 1907, and jumps racing began there in 1950, so it stages both flat and jumps racing. The Ayr Gold Cup Festival grew from the Western Meeting, established in 1824, and the Scottish Grand National moved to Ayr in 1966. Alongside racedays it earns money from hospitality and sponsorship, the four-star Western House Hotel and the Princess Royal Conference and Events Centre, which hosts conferences, exhibitions, banquets and weddings.
In brief: racecourse in Ayr, Scotland · home of the Scottish Grand National and Ayr Gold Cup · flat and jumps · on-site hotel and conference centre
Source: Ayr Racecourse's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.
Who owns Ayr Racecourse?
The Companies House register records Western Meeting Club 2003 as the person with significant control of The Western Meeting Club Limited, company number SC234779. Western Meeting Club 2003 is itself company number SC241997.
That places The Western Meeting Club Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Ayr Racecourse?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for The Western Meeting Club Limited.
All 5 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Richard Bell Johnstone | 17 June 2003 |
| Alan Gillies Macdonald | 17 June 2003 |
| James Stuart Morrison | 1 June 2004 |
| David John Brown | 1 August 2005 |
| David John Brown | 26 July 2007 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Ayr Racecourse file?
The Western Meeting Club Limited reported turnover of £9m in the year to December 2024. That was down 7.4% on £10m the year before.
It reported 76 employees. The year before it reported 73.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.3m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £0.8m the year before.
Staff costs came to £1.4m. That is an average of £19,000 a head. It ended the year with £1.6m at the bank and net assets of £8m.
| Measure | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £9m | £10m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£0.3m (filed) | £0.8m (filed) |
| Employees | 76 | 73 |
| Staff costs | £1.4m | £1.5m |
| Average staff cost per head | £19,000 | £21,000 |
| Bank and cash | £1.6m | £0.6m |
| Net assets | £8m | £8m |
| Directors' pay | £0.2m |
Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Ayr Racecourse?
The Western Meeting Club Limited has registered 7 charges at Companies House, of which 4 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 4 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Clydesdale Bank PLC | 27 August 2013 |
| Clydesdale Bank PLC | 27 August 2013 |
| Clydesdale Bank PLC | 16 August 2013 |
| Horserace Betting Levy Board | 6 August 2008 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Ayr Racecourse files as The Western Meeting Club Limited, whose person with significant control is Western Meeting Club 2003, with turnover of £9m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Ayr Racecourse
What does Ayr Racecourse do?
Ayr Racecourse is a racecourse in Ayr, Scotland, home to the Scottish Grand National and the Ayr Gold Cup. Racing in Ayr dates back to 1576, the course moved to its present site in 1907, and jumps racing began there in 1950, so it stages both flat and jumps racing. The Ayr Gold Cup Festival grew from the Western Meeting, established in 1824, and the Scottish Grand National moved to Ayr in 1966. Alongside racedays it earns money from hospitality and sponsorship, the four-star Western House Hotel and the Princess Royal Conference and Events Centre, which hosts conferences, exhibitions, banquets and weddings.
Who owns Ayr Racecourse?
The Companies House register records Western Meeting Club 2003 as the person with significant control of The Western Meeting Club Limited.
How much does Ayr Racecourse make?
The Western Meeting Club Limited reported turnover of £9m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.3m.
How many people work at Ayr Racecourse?
The Western Meeting Club Limited reported 76 employees in the year to December 2024.
Who runs Ayr Racecourse?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for The Western Meeting Club Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from The Western Meeting Club Limited's filings at Companies House, company number SC234779, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Ayr Racecourse: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/ayr-racecourse/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE WESTERN MEETING CLUB LIMITED (SC234779).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the racecourses: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Formula One Group: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mercedes F1: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
McLaren: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks