Battle · 4 companies

Ferry operators

Riding the waves, or taking on water?

Stena Line leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Stena Line is the biggest by turnover at £591m, against £90m at P&O Ferries. Stena Line keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £6.33 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are up to 12 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. Condor Ferries files group accounts that include subsidiaries; P&O Ferries, DFDS and Stena Line file for a single company, which flatters the group on size.

Accounts compared: P&O Ferries to Dec 2024 · DFDS to Dec 2025 · Stena Line to Dec 2025 · Condor Ferries to Mar 2025

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 Stena LineStena Line Limited £591m -2.0% £37m 6.3% 2,244 £46,000 £263,000 £135m £27m Dec 2025 Single company
2 P&O FerriesP&O Ferries Limited £90m -21.5% £0.7m 0.8% 636 £59,000 £141,000 -£64m £1.9m Dec 2024 Single company
3 DFDSDFDS Seaways PLC £78m +5.3% £1.2m 1.5% 559 £43,000 £139,000 £5m n/d Dec 2025 Single company
4 Condor FerriesCondor UK Holdings Limited £15m -1.6% -£1.3m -8.9% 172 £40,000 £88,000 £2m £0.5m Mar 2025 Group

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Stena Line converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £6.33 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £8.90 at Condor Ferries.
  2. Stena Line is the largest on the top line, £591m of turnover, 6.6x P&O Ferries's £90m.
  3. DFDS is growing fastest, turnover +5.3% on its own prior year. P&O Ferries, Stena Line and Condor Ferries went backwards.
  4. Stena Line is the biggest employer with 2,244 people; P&O Ferries pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £59,000.
  5. Stena Line has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £135m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Stena Line keeps the most: £6.33 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Condor Ferries does worst, losing £8.90.

Financing bites hardest at DFDS: £5.14 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £17.36 of every £100Payroll£17.36Financing: £0.34 of every £100Other costs: £75.97 of every £100Other costs£75.97Profit: £6.33 of every £100Profit £6.33Stena LineYear to Dec 2025£591mPayroll: £30.69 of every £100Payroll£30.69Financing: £5.14 of every £100Other costs: £62.63 of every £100Other costs£62.63Profit: £1.54 of every £100Profit £1.54DFDSYear to Dec 2025£78mPayroll: £41.68 of every £100Payroll£41.68Financing: £4.25 of every £100Other costs: £53.27 of every £100Other costs£53.27Profit: £0.80 of every £100Profit £0.80P&O FerriesYear to Dec 2024£90mPayroll: £45.24 of every £100Payroll£45.24Other costs: £63.66 of every £100Other costs£63.66Loss (the costs beyond £100): £8.90 of every £100Loss £8.90Condor FerriesYear to Mar 2025£15m
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Stena Line (£591m), P&O Ferries (£90m), DFDS (£78m), Condor Ferries (£15m).

By headcount, Stena Line leads with 2,244 employees.

The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: P&O Ferries to Dec 2024, DFDS to Dec 2025, Stena Line to Dec 2025, Condor Ferries to Mar 2025. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

Stena Line£591mP&O Ferries£90mDFDS£78mCondor Ferries£15m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

DFDS grew fastest, turnover +5.3% on its own prior year, ahead of Condor Ferries (-1.6%), Stena Line (-2.0%), P&O Ferries (-21.5%).

DFDS+5.3%Condor Ferries-1.6%Stena Line-2.0%P&O Ferries-21.5%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Stena Line employs the most, 2,244 people, against 636 at P&O Ferries.

P&O Ferries has the highest average staff cost, about £59,000 a head; Condor Ferries the lowest, about £40,000.

Stena Line brings in the most turnover per employee, about £263,000, against £88,000 at Condor Ferries. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureP&O FerriesDFDSStena LineCondor Ferries
Registered nameP&O FERRIES LIMITEDDFDS SEAWAYS PLCSTENA LINE LIMITEDCONDOR UK HOLDINGS LIMITED
Company number00237626015545210140223704421657
Incorporated1929198119782002
Accounts filed4 January 202611 July 20261 May 20264 June 2026
Turnover, prior year£114m£74m£603m£15m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£2m-£3m£42m-£0.3m
Staff costs£37m£24m£103m£7m
Payroll share of turnover41.7%30.7%17.4%45.2%
Employees, prior year6955652,167178
Dividends paidn/dn/d£15mn/d
Charges outstanding10170

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Ferry operators: common questions

Who is the biggest of P&O Ferries, DFDS, Stena Line or Condor Ferries?

Stena Line, with turnover of £591m in the year to December 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

Stena Line: £37m pre-tax in the year to December 2025.

Which employs the most people?

Stena Line, with 2,244 employees in its latest accounts.

P&O Ferries or DFDS: which is bigger?

P&O Ferries, with turnover of £90m against £78m at DFDS on their latest filings. On margin, DFDS keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

P&O Ferries or Stena Line: which is bigger?

Stena Line, with turnover of £591m against £90m at P&O Ferries on their latest filings. On margin, Stena Line keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

P&O Ferries or Condor Ferries: which is bigger?

P&O Ferries, with turnover of £90m against £15m at Condor Ferries on their latest filings. On margin, P&O Ferries keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

DFDS or Stena Line: which is bigger?

Stena Line, with turnover of £591m against £78m at DFDS on their latest filings. On margin, Stena Line keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

DFDS or Condor Ferries: which is bigger?

DFDS, with turnover of £78m against £15m at Condor Ferries on their latest filings. On margin, DFDS keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Stena Line or Condor Ferries: which is bigger?

Stena Line, with turnover of £591m against £15m at Condor Ferries on their latest filings. On margin, Stena Line keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.