Accounts to December 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed May 2026

Stena Line: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Stena Line Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Stena Line (Uk) Ltd. In the year to December 2025 Stena Line Limited reported turnover of £591m.

£591m
Turnover, down 2.0%
£37m
Pre-tax profit
2,244
Employees
Registered name
STENA LINE LIMITED
Company number
01402237
Status
Active
Incorporated
28 November 1978
Registered office area
LLandudno
Industry code on the register
50100: Water transport
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 1 May 2026

What does Stena Line do?

Stena Line runs passenger and freight ferries, with UK routes across the Irish Sea and between Harwich and the Hook of Holland. It earns money from passenger fares, vehicle crossings and on-board spending, and from carrying lorries and freight for hauliers. The company was founded in Gothenburg, Sweden, in 1962 and is part of Stena AB, a privately owned Swedish group.

In brief: ferry operator · Irish Sea and North Sea routes · passengers and freight · Swedish-owned

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: stenaline.co.uk.

Who owns Stena Line?

Stena Line Limited
Stena Line · company 01402237
Stena Line (Uk) Ltd
Company

The Companies House register records Stena Line (Uk) Ltd as the person with significant control of Stena Line Limited, company number 01402237. Stena Line (Uk) Ltd is itself company number 02454575.

That places Stena Line Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Stena Line?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Stena Line Limited.

All 7 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Anna Marica Derenstrand13 October 2014
Ulf Niklas Martensson13 October 2014
Ian James Hampton20 August 2018
Douglas Alexander Gray22 October 2019
Sindo Dominic Fernandez-Ares30 November 2021
Douglas Alexander Gray1 December 2022
Robert Paul Grant1 June 2024

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Stena Line file?

Stena Line Limited reported turnover of £591m in the year to December 2025. That was down 2.0% on £603m the year before.

It reported 2,244 employees. The year before it reported 2,167.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £37m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £42m the year before.

Staff costs came to £103m. That is an average of £46,000 a head. It ended the year with £27m at the bank and net assets of £135m. It paid dividends of £15m.

Dec 2025£17.36£75.97£6.33 profit
Dec 2024£16.22£76.78£7.00 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£591m£603m
Pre-tax profit£37m (filed)£42m (filed)
Employees2,2442,167
Staff costs£103m£98m
Average staff cost per head£46,000£45,000
Bank and cash£27m£33m
Net assets£135m£106m
Dividends paid£15m
Interest paid£2m
Interest received£4m
Directors' pay£0.8m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Stena Line?

Stena Line Limited has registered 34 charges at Companies House, of which 17 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 17 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Svenska Handelsbanken Ab (Publ) as Security Agent for the Finance Parties23 December 2025
Xiang I31 International Ship Lease Co., Limited2 December 2025
Stena Ropax Limited1 December 2025
Xiang CR7 Ireland International Ship Lease Company., Limited23 July 2025
Stena Ropax Cyprus Eur Limited22 May 2025
Stena North Sea Limited24 February 2025
Stena North Sea Limited24 February 2025
Stena Ropax Cyprus Gbp Limited16 April 2024
Stena Ropax Cyprus Gbp Limited19 March 2024
Jiagui International Ship Lease Co., Limited6 January 2023
Jiahe International Ship Lease Co., Limited3 January 2023
Jiafu International Ship Lease Co., Limited25 November 2019
Stena Ropax Limited28 September 2018
Stena North Sea Limited1 February 2018
Stena North Sea Limited1 February 2018
Kfw Ipex-Bank Gmbh13 October 2010
Kfw Ipex-Bank Gmbh13 October 2010

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Stena Line files as Stena Line Limited, whose person with significant control is Stena Line (Uk) Ltd, with turnover of £591m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Stena Line

What does Stena Line do?

Stena Line runs passenger and freight ferries, with UK routes across the Irish Sea and between Harwich and the Hook of Holland. It earns money from passenger fares, vehicle crossings and on-board spending, and from carrying lorries and freight for hauliers. The company was founded in Gothenburg, Sweden, in 1962 and is part of Stena AB, a privately owned Swedish group.

Who owns Stena Line?

The Companies House register records Stena Line (Uk) Ltd as the person with significant control of Stena Line Limited.

How much does Stena Line make?

Stena Line Limited reported turnover of £591m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £37m.

How many people work at Stena Line?

Stena Line Limited reported 2,244 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Stena Line?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Stena Line Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Stena Line Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01402237, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Stena Line: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/stena-line/. Figures from Companies House filings for STENA LINE LIMITED (01402237).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings