Accounts to February 2025 · Group accounts · Filed October 2025

The Range and Homebase: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

CDS (Superstores International) Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Norton Group Holdings Limited. In the year to February 2025 CDS (Superstores International) Limited reported turnover of £1,472m.

£1,472m
Turnover, up 13.5%
£0.5m
Pre-tax profit
12,639
Employees
Registered name
CDS (SUPERSTORES INTERNATIONAL) LIMITED
Company number
02699203
Status
Active
Incorporated
20 March 1992
Registered office area
Plymouth
Industry code on the register
47190: Retail trade
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to February 2025, filed 8 October 2025

What does The Range and Homebase do?

The Range is a home, garden and leisure retailer that sells furniture, bedding, curtains, crafts, DIY, garden and pet products. It opened its first store in Plymouth in 1989 and sells through stores across the UK and online, with click and collect. It is part of the CDS group, CDS (Superstores International) Limited, alongside Homebase and wilko. Homebase, which has traded since 1979 and sells home improvement and garden products, is run by the same company, which trades as Homebase on its own site.

In brief: home, garden and leisure superstores · founded in Plymouth 1989 · part of CDS with Homebase and wilko · stores and online

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 25 September 2026. Official website: therange.co.uk.

Who owns The Range and Homebase?

CDS (Superstores International) Limited
The Range and Homebase · company 02699203
Norton Group Holdings Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Norton Group Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of CDS (Superstores International) Limited, company number 02699203. Norton Group Holdings Limited is itself company number 09562778.

That places CDS (Superstores International) Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs The Range and Homebase?

The Companies House register lists 1 current officers for CDS (Superstores International) Limited.

All 1 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Christopher Frederick Dawson

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did The Range and Homebase file?

CDS (Superstores International) Limited reported turnover of £1,472m in the year to February 2025. That was up 13.5% on £1,297m the year before.

It reported 12,639 employees. The year before it reported 12,238.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.5m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £23m the year before.

Staff costs came to £218m. That is an average of £17,000 a head. It ended the year with £41m at the bank and net assets of £313m.

Feb 2025£14.79£81.61£0.04 profit
Jan 2024£14.55£87.22£1.76 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureFeb 2025Jan 2024
Turnover£1,472m£1,297m
Pre-tax profit£0.5m (filed)-£23m (filed)
Employees12,63912,238
Staff costs£218m£189m
Average staff cost per head£17,000£15,000
Bank and cash£41m£76m
Net assets£313m£316m
Dividends paidn/d£25m
Interest paid£52m
Interest received£3m
Directors' pay£80k

Read the accounts to February 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against The Range and Homebase?

CDS (Superstores International) Limited has registered 25 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How The Range and Homebase compares

The Range and Homebase files as CDS (Superstores International) Limited, whose person with significant control is Norton Group Holdings Limited, with turnover of £1,472m in its latest filed year.

Questions about The Range and Homebase

What does The Range and Homebase do?

The Range is a home, garden and leisure retailer that sells furniture, bedding, curtains, crafts, DIY, garden and pet products. It opened its first store in Plymouth in 1989 and sells through stores across the UK and online, with click and collect. It is part of the CDS group, CDS (Superstores International) Limited, alongside Homebase and wilko. Homebase, which has traded since 1979 and sells home improvement and garden products, is run by the same company, which trades as Homebase on its own site.

Who owns The Range and Homebase?

The Companies House register records Norton Group Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of CDS (Superstores International) Limited.

How much does The Range and Homebase make?

CDS (Superstores International) Limited reported turnover of £1,472m in the year to February 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.5m.

How many people work at The Range and Homebase?

CDS (Superstores International) Limited reported 12,639 employees in the year to February 2025.

Who runs The Range and Homebase?

The Companies House register lists 1 current officers for CDS (Superstores International) Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from CDS (Superstores International) Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02699203, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “The Range and Homebase: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/the-range/. Figures from Companies House filings for CDS (SUPERSTORES INTERNATIONAL) LIMITED (02699203).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings