Young's: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Young & Cos Brewery PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to March 2026 it reported turnover of £508m.
- Registered name
- YOUNG & COS BREWERY PLC
- Company number
- 00032762
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 17 November 1890
- Registered office area
- South West London
- Industry code on the register
- 55100: Accommodation
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to March 2026, filed 9 August 2026
What does Young's do?
Young's runs managed pubs, many with bedrooms, in London and the south of England. It makes money from selling drinks, food and rooms in pubs it operates itself rather than leasing them to tenants. The business was founded in 1831 at the Ram Brewery in Wandsworth and stopped brewing in 2006 to focus on pubs, though beer under the Young's name is still brewed by another company. Its shares trade on the London Stock Exchange's AIM market.
In brief: managed pubs · food, drink and rooms · London and southern England · listed on AIM
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: youngs.co.uk.
Who owns Young's?
Young & Cos Brewery PLC, company number 00032762, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Young's?
The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for Young & Cos Brewery PLC.
All 11 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Torquil Charles Fflorance Barrow Sligo-Young | 1 January 1997 |
| Tracy Janice Dodd | 6 September 2016 |
| Simon Ray Dodd | 2 September 2019 |
| Michael James Owen | 9 September 2019 |
| Aisling Deirdre Maria Meany | 1 September 2021 |
| Stephen John Cooke | 1 November 2023 |
| Ian Dyson | 2 September 2024 |
| Severine Pascale Bequin | 20 January 2025 |
| John Michael Dunsmore | 9 July 2025 |
| Sonita Charlene Alleyne | 7 July 2026 |
| Diana Jane Houghton | 7 July 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Young's file?
Young & Cos Brewery PLC reported turnover of £508m in the year to March 2026. That was up 4.6% on £486m the year before.
It reported 7,477 employees. The year before it reported 7,453.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £41m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £18m the year before.
Staff costs came to £182m. That is an average of £24,000 a head. It ended the year with £8m at the bank and net assets of £790m. It paid dividends of £15m.
| Measure | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £508m | £486m |
| Pre-tax profit | £41m (filed) | £18m (filed) |
| Employees | 7,477 | 7,453 |
| Staff costs | £182m | £169m |
| Average staff cost per head | £24,000 | £23,000 |
| Bank and cash | £8m | £8m |
| Net assets | £790m | £772m |
| Dividends paid | £15m | £14m |
| Interest paid | £18m | |
| Directors' pay | £3m |
Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Young's?
Young & Cos Brewery PLC has registered 25 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 3 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| The Law Debenture Trust Corporation P.L.C. | 20 April 2019 |
| Young's Pension Trustees Limited | 10 April 2018 |
| The Alliance Assurance Company LTD | 30 September 1938 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Young's files as Young & Cos Brewery PLC, with turnover of £508m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Young's
What does Young's do?
Young's runs managed pubs, many with bedrooms, in London and the south of England. It makes money from selling drinks, food and rooms in pubs it operates itself rather than leasing them to tenants. The business was founded in 1831 at the Ram Brewery in Wandsworth and stopped brewing in 2006 to focus on pubs, though beer under the Young's name is still brewed by another company. Its shares trade on the London Stock Exchange's AIM market.
Who owns Young's?
Young & Cos Brewery PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.
How much does Young's make?
Young & Cos Brewery PLC reported turnover of £508m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £41m.
How many people work at Young's?
Young & Cos Brewery PLC reported 7,477 employees in the year to March 2026.
Who runs Young's?
The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for Young & Cos Brewery PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Young & Cos Brewery PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 00032762, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Young's: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/youngs/. Figures from Companies House filings for YOUNG & COS BREWERY PLC (00032762).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the pub groups: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Bet365: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greene King: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks