Wenzel's: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Wenzels the Bakers Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Wenzels Holdings Ltd. In the year to March 2025 Wenzels the Bakers Limited reported turnover of £63m.
- Registered name
- WENZELS THE BAKERS LIMITED
- Company number
- 06080714
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 2 February 2007
- Registered office area
- Watford
- Industry code on the register
- 47240: Retail trade
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to March 2025, filed 30 December 2025
What does Wenzel's do?
Wenzel's is a family-run bakery chain selling bread, sandwiches, baguettes, hot food, cakes and drinks from its own shops. Founded in 1975, it bakes its own bread, cakes and treats. Customers can buy in store, order online for click and collect or catering, or order through delivery apps.
In brief: bakery chain · bread, sandwiches and cakes · own shops · click and collect
Source: Wenzel's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.
Who owns Wenzel's?
The Companies House register records Wenzels Holdings Ltd as the person with significant control of Wenzels the Bakers Limited, company number 06080714. Wenzels Holdings Ltd is itself company number 16039054.
That places Wenzels the Bakers Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Wenzel's?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Wenzels the Bakers Limited.
All 5 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Peter Wenzel | 2 February 2007 |
| Sarah Wenzel | 3 June 2013 |
| Karl Barry Spinks | 1 April 2019 |
| Ross Robins | 1 February 2021 |
| Richard Andrew Phipps | 3 December 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Wenzel's file?
Wenzels the Bakers Limited reported turnover of £63m in the year to March 2025. That was down 7.1% on £68m the year before.
It reported 1,161 employees. The year before it reported 1,187.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £3m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £3m the year before.
Staff costs came to £26m. That is an average of £22,000 a head. It ended the year with £1.8m at the bank and net assets of £7m.
| Measure | Mar 2025 | Apr 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £63m | £68m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£3m (filed) | £3m (filed) |
| Employees | 1,161 | 1,187 |
| Staff costs | £26m | £24m |
| Average staff cost per head | £22,000 | £20,000 |
| Bank and cash | £1.8m | £0.1m |
| Net assets | £7m | £8m |
| Dividends paid | n/d | £5m |
| Interest paid | £0.5m | |
| Directors' pay | £0.5m |
Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Wenzel's?
Wenzels the Bakers Limited has registered 1 charge at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
The outstanding charge
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Hsbc Bank PLC | 6 May 2010 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Wenzel's files as Wenzels the Bakers Limited, whose person with significant control is Wenzels Holdings Ltd, with turnover of £63m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Wenzel's
What does Wenzel's do?
Wenzel's is a family-run bakery chain selling bread, sandwiches, baguettes, hot food, cakes and drinks from its own shops. Founded in 1975, it bakes its own bread, cakes and treats. Customers can buy in store, order online for click and collect or catering, or order through delivery apps.
Who owns Wenzel's?
The Companies House register records Wenzels Holdings Ltd as the person with significant control of Wenzels the Bakers Limited.
How much does Wenzel's make?
Wenzels the Bakers Limited reported turnover of £63m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £3m.
How many people work at Wenzel's?
Wenzels the Bakers Limited reported 1,161 employees in the year to March 2025.
Who runs Wenzel's?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Wenzels the Bakers Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Wenzels the Bakers Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 06080714, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Wenzel's: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/wenzels/. Figures from Companies House filings for WENZELS THE BAKERS LIMITED (06080714).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the high street bakeries: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Wetherspoons: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greggs: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
McDonald's: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks