Accounts to December 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed July 2026

Wasabi: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Wasabi Co. Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Wasabi Sushi Bento Limited. In the year to December 2025 Wasabi Co. Ltd reported turnover of £125m.

£125m
Turnover, up 2.8%
-£1.1m
Pre-tax profit
1,122
Employees
Registered name
WASABI CO. LTD
Company number
04431046
Status
Active
Incorporated
3 May 2002
Registered office area
North-West London
Industry code on the register
10850: Manufacture of food products
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 29 July 2026

What does Wasabi do?

Wasabi runs sushi and bento food-to-go shops selling sushi rolls and sets, sashimi, hot bento boxes such as katsu curry, noodles, dumplings and soup. Food is prepared in its shops for customers to eat in or take away, and it also takes delivery orders online. A loyalty app, Wasabi Rewards, earns points on each purchase, and a grocery range is sold for eating at home. The business began as a stall in Camden Market.

In brief: sushi and bento food to go · own shops · eat in, takeaway and delivery · loyalty app

Source: Wasabi's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns Wasabi?

Wasabi Co. Ltd
Wasabi · company 04431046
Wasabi Sushi Bento Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Wasabi Sushi Bento Limited as the person with significant control of Wasabi Co. Ltd, company number 04431046. Wasabi Sushi Bento Limited is itself company number 08106545.

That places Wasabi Co. Ltd inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Wasabi?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Wasabi Co. Ltd.

All 2 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Henry Birts9 June 2020
John Buckingham2 June 2023

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Wasabi file?

Wasabi Co. Ltd reported turnover of £125m in the year to December 2025. That was up 2.8% on £122m the year before.

It reported 1,122 employees. The year before it reported 1,186.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £1.1m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £2m the year before.

Staff costs came to £38m. That is an average of £34,000 a head. It ended the year with £2m at the bank and net assets of -£36m.

Dec 2025£30.22£69.05£0.89 loss
Dec 2024£29.78£68.38£1.84 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£125m£122m
Pre-tax profit-£1.1m (filed)£2m (filed)
Employees1,1221,186
Staff costs£38m£36m
Average staff cost per head£34,000£31,000
Bank and cash£2m£1.6m
Net assets-£36m-£35m
Interest paid£2m
Interest received£1.4m
Directors' pay£0.7m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Wasabi?

Wasabi Co. Ltd has registered 27 charges at Companies House, of which 10 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 10 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Hsbc Equipment Finance (UK) Limited25 June 2025
Hsbc UK Bank PLC19 April 2023
Wasabi Group Limited8 March 2023
Hsbc Invoice Finance (UK) Limited7 March 2023
Hsbc UK Bank PLC2 March 2023
Hsbc UK Bank PLC2 March 2023
Wasabi Participations Limited4 September 2020
Hsbc UK Bank PLC as Security Agent25 August 2020
Hsbc UK Bank PLC as Security Agent15 May 2019
Wasabi Participations Limited13 May 2019

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Wasabi compares

Wasabi files as Wasabi Co. Ltd, whose person with significant control is Wasabi Sushi Bento Limited, with turnover of £125m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Wasabi

What does Wasabi do?

Wasabi runs sushi and bento food-to-go shops selling sushi rolls and sets, sashimi, hot bento boxes such as katsu curry, noodles, dumplings and soup. Food is prepared in its shops for customers to eat in or take away, and it also takes delivery orders online. A loyalty app, Wasabi Rewards, earns points on each purchase, and a grocery range is sold for eating at home. The business began as a stall in Camden Market.

Who owns Wasabi?

The Companies House register records Wasabi Sushi Bento Limited as the person with significant control of Wasabi Co. Ltd.

How much does Wasabi make?

Wasabi Co. Ltd reported turnover of £125m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £1.1m.

How many people work at Wasabi?

Wasabi Co. Ltd reported 1,122 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Wasabi?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Wasabi Co. Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Wasabi Co. Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 04431046, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Wasabi: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/wasabi/. Figures from Companies House filings for WASABI CO. LTD (04431046).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings