The Ritz: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
The Ritz Hotel Limited has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to December 2024 it reported turnover of £122m.
The Ritz's pre-tax profit in these accounts is well out of line with the year before. That usually points to a one-off, such as a gain or dividend from inside the group or an acquisition, rather than trading. The figures are shown as filed; the full accounts at Companies House explain what is behind them.
- Registered name
- THE RITZ HOTEL LIMITED
- Company number
- 00048125
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 29 May 1896
- Registered office area
- East-Central London
- Industry code on the register
- 55100: Accommodation
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2024, filed 19 June 2025
What does The Ritz do?
The Ritz is a luxury hotel on Piccadilly in London, overlooking Green Park, offering rooms and suites, restaurants and bars, afternoon tea and private dining. It earns its money from overnight stays, dining, afternoon tea and events. It was opened in 1906 by the hotelier César Ritz, and its afternoon tea and The Ritz Restaurant are central to its reputation. It also includes William Kent House, an adjoining 18th-century mansion used for private dining and suites.
In brief: luxury hotel · Piccadilly · rooms, restaurants and afternoon tea
Source: The Ritz's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.
Who owns The Ritz?
The Ritz Hotel Limited, company number 00048125, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs The Ritz?
The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for The Ritz Hotel Limited.
All 4 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Cyril-Pierre Christophe Ranque | 1 October 2022 |
| Pierre Louis Roger Jochem | 1 April 2023 |
| Robert Andrew Swade | 9 December 2024 |
| Dr Johannes Christian Gasser | 1 February 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did The Ritz file?
The Ritz Hotel Limited reported turnover of £122m in the year to December 2024. That was up 13.0% on £108m the year before.
It reported 623 employees. The year before it reported 650.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £21m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £2m the year before.
Staff costs came to £44m. That is an average of £71,000 a head. It ended the year with £17m at the bank and net assets of -£105m.
| Measure | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £122m | £108m |
| Pre-tax profit | £21m (filed) | £2m (filed) |
| Employees | 623 | 650 |
| Staff costs | £44m | £40m |
| Average staff cost per head | £71,000 | £62,000 |
| Bank and cash | £17m | £18m |
| Net assets | -£105m | -£121m |
| Interest paid | £19m | |
| Interest received | £4m | |
| Directors' pay | £0.5m |
Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against The Ritz?
The Ritz Hotel Limited has registered 25 charges at Companies House, of which 25 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 25 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Bnp Paribas as Security Agent | 25 July 2022 |
| Bnp Paribas as Security Agent | 25 July 2022 |
| Bnp Paribas as Security Agent | 25 July 2022 |
| Bnp Paribas as Security Agent | 25 July 2022 |
| Bnp Paribas | 31 December 2021 |
| Bnp Paribas | 23 December 2021 |
| Bnp Paribas | 23 December 2021 |
| Bnp Paribas | 23 December 2021 |
| Bnp Paribas | 23 December 2021 |
| Bnp Paribas | 23 December 2021 |
| Bnp Paribas as Security Agent | 10 June 2020 |
| Bnp Paribas as Security Agent, Bnp Paribas as Agent, Bnp Paribas as Arranger, Bnp Paribas as Lender | 20 August 2019 |
| Bnp Paribas as Lender, Bnp Paribas as Security Agent | 20 August 2019 |
| Bnp Paribas as Lender, Bnp Paribas as Security Agent | 20 August 2019 |
| Bnp Paribas as Lender, Bnp Paribas as Security Agent | 20 August 2019 |
| Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Arranger) Together the Beneficiaries, Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Security Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Original Lender) | 1 August 2016 |
| Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Arranger) Together the Beneficiaries, Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Security Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Original Lender) | 1 August 2016 |
| Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Security Agent) Together the Beneficiaries, Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Arranger), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Original Lender) | 1 August 2016 |
| Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Arranger) Together the Beneficiaries, Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Security Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Original Lender) | 30 October 2015 |
| Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Security Agent) | 11 August 2015 |
| Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Security Agent) | 11 August 2015 |
| Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Arranger), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Security Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Original Lender) | 11 August 2015 |
| Deuctsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Arranger), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Security Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Original Lender) | 11 August 2015 |
| Deutsche Pfandbreifbank Ag (The Security Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag ( the Agent), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag ( the Arranger), Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag ( the Orginal Lender) | 11 August 2015 |
| Deutsche Pfandbriefbank Ag (The Security Agent) | 11 August 2015 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
How The Ritz compares
The Ritz files as The Ritz Hotel Limited, with turnover of £122m in its latest filed year.
Questions about The Ritz
What does The Ritz do?
The Ritz is a luxury hotel on Piccadilly in London, overlooking Green Park, offering rooms and suites, restaurants and bars, afternoon tea and private dining. It earns its money from overnight stays, dining, afternoon tea and events. It was opened in 1906 by the hotelier César Ritz, and its afternoon tea and The Ritz Restaurant are central to its reputation. It also includes William Kent House, an adjoining 18th-century mansion used for private dining and suites.
Who owns The Ritz?
The Ritz Hotel Limited has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.
How much does The Ritz make?
The Ritz Hotel Limited reported turnover of £122m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £21m.
How many people work at The Ritz?
The Ritz Hotel Limited reported 623 employees in the year to December 2024.
Who runs The Ritz?
The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for The Ritz Hotel Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from The Ritz Hotel Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 00048125, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “The Ritz: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/the-ritz/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE RITZ HOTEL LIMITED (00048125).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
The Dorchester v The Ritz: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Battle
The battle of London's luxury hotels: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
easyJet: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Jet2: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
TUI: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series