Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed August 2025

The R&A: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

R&A Championships Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is R&A Trust Company (No.1) Limited. In the year to December 2024 R&A Championships Limited reported turnover of £151m.

The R&A has filed accounts for the year to 31 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 December 2024. It will update when they are.

£151m
Turnover, up 3.2%
£5m
Pre-tax profit
None
Employees of its own
Deep dive · What story does the money tell?How does The R&A really make its money? Inside its 2025 accountsRead the full story, line by line from the accounts →
Registered name
R&A CHAMPIONSHIPS LIMITED
Company number
SC247047
Status
Active
Incorporated
2 April 2003
Registered office area
Kirkcaldy
Industry code on the register
93199: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 19 August 2025

What does The R&A do?

The R&A is a golf governing body that stages The Open, the AIG Women's Open and leading amateur championships. Based in St Andrews, it sets the Rules of Golf, equipment standards and the handicap system and runs golf ranking systems. The Open, golf's original championship, has been played since 1860 on links courses, with qualifying events on every continent and its championships draw spectators and commercial partners. The R&A also runs Golf It!, a community golf and entertainment facility in Glasgow.

In brief: runs The Open and AIG Women's Open · Rules of Golf and equipment standards · based in St Andrews · amateur championships

Source: The R&A's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns The R&A?

R&A Championships Limited
The R&A · company SC247047
R&A Trust Company (No.1) Limited
Company

The Companies House register records R&A Trust Company (No.1) Limited as the person with significant control of R&A Championships Limited, company number SC247047. R&A Trust Company (No.1) Limited is itself company number SC247045.

That places R&A Championships Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs The R&A?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for R&A Championships Limited.

All 5 current officers
OfficerAppointed
John Fraser Murray30 April 2012
John Daniel Brink15 March 2023
Mark Robert Guy Darbon13 December 2024
Johnnie Liston Cole Hamilton4 March 2026
Neil Armit4 March 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did The R&A file?

R&A Championships Limited reported turnover of £151m in the year to December 2024. That was up 3.2% on £146m the year before.

It has no employees of its own: its accounts say the people who work for it are employed by other companies in its group, which charge it for their cost.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £5m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £1.1m the year before.

It ended the year with £5m at the bank and net assets of £33m.

MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£151m£146m
Pre-tax profit£5m (filed)-£1.1m (filed)
EmployeesNone of its ownNone of its own
Bank and cash£5m£6m
Net assets£33m£30m
Interest received£0.8m
Directors' pay£0.2m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against The R&A?

R&A Championships Limited has registered 1 charge at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Glasgow City Council, as Local Authority for the City of Glasgow in Terms of the Local Government Etc. (Scotland) Act 199420 October 2021

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How The R&A compares

The R&A files as R&A Championships Limited, whose person with significant control is R&A Trust Company (No.1) Limited, with turnover of £151m in its latest filed year.

Questions about The R&A

What does The R&A do?

The R&A is a golf governing body that stages The Open, the AIG Women's Open and leading amateur championships. Based in St Andrews, it sets the Rules of Golf, equipment standards and the handicap system and runs golf ranking systems. The Open, golf's original championship, has been played since 1860 on links courses, with qualifying events on every continent and its championships draw spectators and commercial partners. The R&A also runs Golf It!, a community golf and entertainment facility in Glasgow.

Who owns The R&A?

The Companies House register records R&A Trust Company (No.1) Limited as the person with significant control of R&A Championships Limited.

How much does The R&A make?

R&A Championships Limited reported turnover of £151m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £5m.

How many people work at The R&A?

R&A Championships Limited has no employees of its own. Its accounts say the people who work for it are employed by other companies in its group, which charge it for their cost.

Who runs The R&A?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for R&A Championships Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from R&A Championships Limited's filings at Companies House, company number SC247047, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “The R&A: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/the-r-and-a/. Figures from Companies House filings for R&A CHAMPIONSHIPS LIMITED (SC247047).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings