Accounts to December 2024 · Group accounts · Filed September 2025

Synthesia: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Synthesia Limited has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to December 2024 it reported turnover of £58m.

Synthesia has filed accounts for the year to 31 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 December 2024. It will update when they are.

£58m
Turnover, up 82.2%
-£59m
Pre-tax profit
353
Employees
Registered name
SYNTHESIA LIMITED
Company number
10933652
Status
Active
Incorporated
25 August 2017
Registered office area
North-West London
Industry code on the register
62012: Computer programming, consultancy and related activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 26 September 2025

What does Synthesia do?

Synthesia is a London software company whose platform lets businesses create videos from text, using AI-generated presenters, or avatars, that speak in many languages. It makes money from subscriptions sold to companies, which mostly use it for training, internal communications, marketing and customer support videos without cameras, studios or actors. Customers can also create custom avatars based on real people. It was founded in 2017 by entrepreneurs and AI researchers including academics from UCL and the Technical University of Munich.

In brief: AI video · avatars from text · business subscriptions · founded in London, 2017

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: synthesia.io.

Who owns Synthesia?

Synthesia Limited, company number 10933652, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Synthesia?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Synthesia Limited.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Steffen Tjerrild-Hansen25 August 2017
Victor Riparbelli Rasmussen25 August 2017
Steffen Tjerrild-Hansen25 August 2017
Matt Turck12 February 2021
Joshua David Coyne1 November 2021
Philippe Laurent Alain Botteri2 June 2023
Oakwood Corporate Secretary Limited21 August 2023
Philip Karim Chopin9 December 2024

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Synthesia file?

Synthesia Limited reported turnover of £58m in the year to December 2024. That was up 82.2% on £32m the year before.

It reported 353 employees. The year before it reported 207.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £59m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £28m the year before.

Staff costs came to £62m. That is an average of £176,000 a head. It ended the year with £220m at the bank and net assets of £197m.

Dec 2024£106.24£94.80£101.54 loss
Dec 2023£71.78£116.05£87.83 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket; where it ends in an arrow the costs run past £200. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£58m£32m
Pre-tax profit-£59m (filed)-£28m (filed)
Employees353207
Staff costs£62m£23m
Average staff cost per head£176,000£111,000
Bank and cash£220m£103m
Net assets£197m£99m
Interest paid£0.3m
Interest received£4m
Directors' pay£1.1m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Synthesia files as Synthesia Limited, with turnover of £58m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Synthesia

What does Synthesia do?

Synthesia is a London software company whose platform lets businesses create videos from text, using AI-generated presenters, or avatars, that speak in many languages. It makes money from subscriptions sold to companies, which mostly use it for training, internal communications, marketing and customer support videos without cameras, studios or actors. Customers can also create custom avatars based on real people. It was founded in 2017 by entrepreneurs and AI researchers including academics from UCL and the Technical University of Munich.

Who owns Synthesia?

Synthesia Limited has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Synthesia make?

Synthesia Limited reported turnover of £58m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £59m.

How many people work at Synthesia?

Synthesia Limited reported 353 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Synthesia?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Synthesia Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Synthesia Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 10933652, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Synthesia: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/synthesia/. Figures from Companies House filings for SYNTHESIA LIMITED (10933652).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings