Accounts to June 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed March 2026

Darktrace: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Darktrace Holdings Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Darktrace Limited. In the year to June 2025 Darktrace Holdings Limited reported turnover of £603m.

Darktrace's pre-tax profit in these accounts is well out of line with the year before. That usually points to a one-off, such as a gain or dividend from inside the group or an acquisition, rather than trading. The figures are shown as filed; the full accounts at Companies House explain what is behind them.

£603m
Turnover, up 10.9%
£420m
Pre-tax profit
1,014
Employees
Registered name
DARKTRACE HOLDINGS LIMITED
Company number
08562035
Status
Active
Incorporated
10 June 2013
Registered office area
Cambridge
Industry code on the register
62012: Computer programming, consultancy and related activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to June 2025, filed 14 March 2026

What does Darktrace do?

Darktrace is a cybersecurity company that sells software using artificial intelligence to detect and respond to cyber threats across an organisation's networks, email, cloud and devices. Its system learns what normal activity looks like for each customer and flags unusual behaviour, rather than relying only on known attack signatures. It earns money from subscriptions. The company was founded in Cambridge in 2013 and is owned by the private equity firm Thoma Bravo.

In brief: cybersecurity AI · anomaly detection · subscriptions · owned by Thoma Bravo

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: darktrace.com.

Who owns Darktrace?

Darktrace Holdings Limited
Darktrace · company 08562035
Darktrace Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Darktrace Limited as the person with significant control of Darktrace Holdings Limited, company number 08562035. Darktrace Limited is itself company number 13264637.

That places Darktrace Holdings Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Darktrace?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Darktrace Holdings Limited.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
David James Smith3 November 2025
Terence David Doyle18 June 2026
David Eric Morris18 June 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Darktrace file?

Darktrace Holdings Limited reported turnover of £603m in the year to June 2025. That was up 10.9% on £543m the year before.

It reported 1,014 employees. The year before it reported 968.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £420m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £55m the year before.

Staff costs came to £156m. That is an average of £153,000 a head. It ended the year with £108m at the bank and net assets of £588m.

Jun 2025£25.83£69.73£69.73 profit
Jun 2024£23.87£65.97£10.17 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJun 2025Jun 2024
Turnover£603m£543m
Pre-tax profit£420m (filed)£55m (filed)
Employees1,014968
Staff costs£156m£130m
Average staff cost per head£153,000£134,000
Bank and cash£108m£277m
Net assets£588m£222m
Interest paid£2m
Interest received£18m
Directors' pay£9m

Read the accounts to June 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Darktrace?

Darktrace Holdings Limited has registered 14 charges at Companies House, of which 7 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 7 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Goldman Sachs Bank Usa5 December 2025
Goldman Sachs Bank Usa10 April 2025
Goldman Sachs Bank Usa10 April 2025
Goldman Sachs Bank Usa10 April 2025
Goldman Sachs Bank Usa10 April 2025
Goldman Sachs Bank Usa10 April 2025
Barclays Bank PLC6 February 2025

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Darktrace files as Darktrace Holdings Limited, whose person with significant control is Darktrace Limited, with turnover of £603m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Darktrace

What does Darktrace do?

Darktrace is a cybersecurity company that sells software using artificial intelligence to detect and respond to cyber threats across an organisation's networks, email, cloud and devices. Its system learns what normal activity looks like for each customer and flags unusual behaviour, rather than relying only on known attack signatures. It earns money from subscriptions. The company was founded in Cambridge in 2013 and is owned by the private equity firm Thoma Bravo.

Who owns Darktrace?

The Companies House register records Darktrace Limited as the person with significant control of Darktrace Holdings Limited.

How much does Darktrace make?

Darktrace Holdings Limited reported turnover of £603m in the year to June 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £420m.

How many people work at Darktrace?

Darktrace Holdings Limited reported 1,014 employees in the year to June 2025.

Who runs Darktrace?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Darktrace Holdings Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Darktrace Holdings Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 08562035, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Darktrace: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/darktrace/. Figures from Companies House filings for DARKTRACE HOLDINGS LIMITED (08562035).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings