Stability AI: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Stability Ai Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Stability Ai, Inc. In the year to December 2024 Stability Ai Ltd reported turnover of £41m.
- Registered name
- STABILITY AI LTD
- Company number
- 12295325
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 4 November 2019
- Registered office area
- West London
- Industry code on the register
- 62012: Computer programming, consultancy and related activities
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2024, filed 27 December 2025
What does Stability AI do?
Stability AI is a London-based generative AI company that develops models for creating images, video, audio and 3D content from text prompts, best known for its Stable Diffusion image model. It makes money by licensing its models to businesses, selling access through its API and offering enterprise partnerships, while releasing many models with openly available weights that developers can run themselves. It was founded in 2019.
In brief: generative AI models · Stable Diffusion · licensing and API · open-weight models
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: stability.ai.
Who owns Stability AI?
The Companies House register records Stability Ai, Inc as the person with significant control of Stability Ai Ltd, company number 12295325. Stability Ai, Inc is itself company number 85-33733.
That places Stability Ai Ltd inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Stability AI?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Stability Ai Ltd.
All 3 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Peter Sean James O'Donoghue | 7 June 2023 |
| Prem Kumar Akkaraju | 23 February 2025 |
| Christian Dowell | 23 February 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Stability AI file?
Stability Ai Ltd reported turnover of £41m in the year to December 2024.
It reported 59 employees. The year before it reported 45.
Staff costs came to £11m. That is an average of £186,000 a head. It ended the year with £18m at the bank and net assets of -£39m.
| Measure | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £41m | n/d |
| Pre-tax profit | -£36m (filed) | |
| Employees | 59 | 45 |
| Staff costs | £11m | |
| Average staff cost per head | £186,000 | |
| Bank and cash | £18m | £3m |
| Net assets | -£39m | -£44m |
| Interest paid | £4m | |
| Interest received | £0.6m | |
| Directors' pay | £0.6m |
Read the accounts to December 2024 (PDF, Companies House) · every accounts filing
Stability AI files as Stability Ai Ltd, whose person with significant control is Stability Ai, Inc, with turnover of £41m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Stability AI
What does Stability AI do?
Stability AI is a London-based generative AI company that develops models for creating images, video, audio and 3D content from text prompts, best known for its Stable Diffusion image model. It makes money by licensing its models to businesses, selling access through its API and offering enterprise partnerships, while releasing many models with openly available weights that developers can run themselves. It was founded in 2019.
Who owns Stability AI?
The Companies House register records Stability Ai, Inc as the person with significant control of Stability Ai Ltd.
How much does Stability AI make?
Stability Ai Ltd reported turnover of £41m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £36m.
How many people work at Stability AI?
Stability Ai Ltd reported 59 employees in the year to December 2024.
Who runs Stability AI?
The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Stability Ai Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Stability Ai Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 12295325, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Stability AI: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/stability-ai/. Figures from Companies House filings for STABILITY AI LTD (12295325).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the UK AI companies: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Google DeepMind: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Darktrace: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Quantexa: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks