Showcase: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is David Ferris Ellison. In the year to January 2025 Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited reported turnover of £90m.
- Registered name
- HARBOR LIGHTS ENTERTAINMENT (UK) LIMITED
- Company number
- 02141131
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 18 June 1987
- Registered office area
- Nottingham
- Industry code on the register
- 59140: Motion picture, video and television programme production, sound recording and music publishing
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to January 2025, filed 6 October 2025
What does Showcase do?
Showcase runs cinemas in the UK, selling tickets to new-release films alongside food and drink. Its venues trade as Showcase and Showcase Cinema de Lux, and it offers the XPlus large-screen format as well as event cinema, family screenings and baby-friendly showings. Customers book tickets online or at the venue, and a free loyalty scheme, Showcase Insider, gives members extra benefits.
In brief: cinema chain · film tickets and food and drink · Showcase Cinema de Lux · XPlus screens
Source: Showcase's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.
Who owns Showcase?
The Companies House register records David Ferris Ellison as the person with significant control of Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited, company number 02141131.
The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Showcase?
The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited.
All 4 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Lisa Marie Martignetti | 20 April 2016 |
| Edward Ryan | 7 August 2025 |
| Julie Brennan Heinzelman | 7 August 2025 |
| Reed Smith Corporate Services Limited | 4 June 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Showcase file?
Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited reported turnover of £90m in the year to January 2025. That was down 2.8% on £93m the year before.
It reported 1,161 employees. The year before it reported 1,280.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £1.9m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £13m the year before.
Staff costs came to £18m. That is an average of £15,000 a head. It ended the year with £10m at the bank and net assets of -£70m.
| Measure | Jan 2025 | Jan 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £90m | £93m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£1.9m (filed) | -£13m (filed) |
| Employees | 1,161 | 1,280 |
| Staff costs | £18m | £19m |
| Average staff cost per head | £15,000 | £14,000 |
| Bank and cash | £10m | £5m |
| Net assets | -£70m | -£68m |
| Interest received | £83k |
Read the accounts to January 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Showcase files as Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited, whose person with significant control is David Ferris Ellison, with turnover of £90m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Showcase
What does Showcase do?
Showcase runs cinemas in the UK, selling tickets to new-release films alongside food and drink. Its venues trade as Showcase and Showcase Cinema de Lux, and it offers the XPlus large-screen format as well as event cinema, family screenings and baby-friendly showings. Customers book tickets online or at the venue, and a free loyalty scheme, Showcase Insider, gives members extra benefits.
Who owns Showcase?
The Companies House register records David Ferris Ellison as the person with significant control of Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited.
How much does Showcase make?
Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited reported turnover of £90m in the year to January 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £1.9m.
How many people work at Showcase?
Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited reported 1,161 employees in the year to January 2025.
Who runs Showcase?
The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Harbor Lights Entertainment (UK) Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02141131, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Showcase: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/showcase/. Figures from Companies House filings for HARBOR LIGHTS ENTERTAINMENT (UK) LIMITED (02141131).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the cinema chains: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Bet365: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greene King: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks